Kane Williamson once again bags Sir Richard Hadlee Medal

Williamson has scored 468 runs in five games in 2017

View : 1.3K

2 Min Read

Kane Williamson of New Zealand
Kane Williamson of New Zealand. (Photo by Dianne Manson/Getty Images)

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson who scored a brilliant century against the Proteas in the final test of the three-match series won three awards in at the New Zealand Cricket Award ceremony on Thursday including the Sir Richard Hadlee medal. This is the second year in a row the cricketer has bagged the prestigious medal.

Kane Williamson has been in terrific form with the bat in the longest format of the game in the recent past as he had a brilliant 2015 where he managed to score 1172 runs. The right-hander who is the only Kiwi player to feature in International Cricket council’s 2016 test team followed up 2015 with a decent 2016 scoring 753 runs in the year. The 26-year-old has also started 2017 in amazing fashion with 468 runs in five games.

Williamson averages a staggering 59.94 in the period for which he was awarded. The Kiwi skipper is not known for his big shots but he also bagged the T20 player of the year with an average of 52.66 in the shortest version of the game. The third award which he got was the Redpath Cup award for his tremendous performances with the bat.

The second fastest bowler to reach 100 wickets for New Zealand, Neil Wagner won the test cricketer of the year award. He has impressive figures of 56 wickets in 13 tests, the second highest aggregate in New Zealand history after Richard Hadlee’s 64 in 1985.

New Zealand opener Martin Guptill once again got the ODI cricketer of the year as he has scored a huge 570 runs at an average of 47.50. Guptill’s season was marked by a superb 114 in Sydney against Australia and a match-deciding 180 against the Proteas in Hamilton.

Amy Satterthwaite who earned the Women’s ODI Cricketer of the year Award was in scintillating form last year as she ended the period of judging with a whopping 935 runs at an average of 103.88, and a strike-rate of 95.89.

Suzie Bates after leading the Kiwis to a series victory against the Aussies was named the Women’s T20 player of the year.

NZ Cricket Award Winners

Sir Richard Hadlee Medal (player of the year): Kane Williamson

Test player of the year: Neil Wagner

ODI player of the year: Martin Guptill

T20 International player of the year: Kane Williamson

Women’s ODI player of the year: Amy Satterthwaite

Women’s T20 International player of the year: Suzie Bates

Winsor Cup (first-class bowling): Neil Wagner

Redpath Cup (first-class batting):  Kane Williamson

McDonald’s Super Smash T20 player of the year: Glenn Phillips (Auckland)

Ruth Martin Cup (women’s domestic batting): Katey Martin (Otago)

Phyl Blackler Cup (women’s domestic bowling): Leigh Kasperek (Otago)

Bert Sutcliffe Medal (outstanding services to cricket): Neil Sulzberger (Taranaki Cricket Association)

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store