KSCA launches KPL 2016 schedule

KSCA launches KPL 2016 schedule

KPL 2016
Launch of Karbonn KPL V. (Photo Source: KPL)

Bengaluru, July 29, 2016: The Karbonn Karnataka Premier League (KPL 2016) powered by Cycle Pure Agarbathies is the most awaited cricketing event of the year in Karnataka leading to spotting, nurturing and showcasing of young talent. Pioneered by the Karnataka State Cricket Association in 2009 as a launch pad for the state’s talented youngsters, the success of KPL has exceeded expectations.

“The best aspect of KPL is the increasing number of cricketers it has helped unearth and develop. This, in turn, has impacted positively on the fortunes of players and the state,” said Brijesh Patel, Hony. Secretary, KSCA.

“Many of the emerging young talents, from the likes of Shivil Kaushik, KC Cariappa, J Suchith, Praveen Dubey, Kishore Kamath, Prasidh Krishna to David Mathias were discovered while standing up to the pressures at KPL,” he added.

The IPL franchises’ talent scouts, who flock to KPL venues in search of fresh, exciting talent, lapped up these young players at the IPL auction and made them household names.

Shivil Kaushik went from anonymity to an IPL contract with Gujarat Lions and now a contract with English club Hull City in the Yorkshire league, all in one season, after coming into limelight at the KPL.

Taking note of the excellent success of KPL, other associations, TNCA, Kerala, Mumbai and Bengal are reportedly in the process of developing a similar league within their geographical areas.

Besides benefitting players, KPL has also contributed to upgrading cricketing infrastructure of the state. Mysuru and Hubbali, where the KPL would be held this year, have excellent cricket stadiums, including floodlight facilities for day-night cricket. The top class nets facilities are a boon to the regions’ local cricketers who use them throughout the year.

“This year, the matches will be staged in the upgraded stadia of Mysuru and Hubbali from Sept 16 to Oct 1. In the near future we hope to host some matches in Shivamogga and Mangalore too,” said P.R. Ashok Anand, President, KSCA.

The first phase will be held at the SDNR Wadiyar cricket ground, Mysuru from September 16 to 25. The Hubbali phase will be staged at the KSCA Stadium in Raj Nagar from September 27 to October 1. Both the semifinals and the final will be held in Hubbali.

“Winning KPL last year was our dream and I am very happy we made it happen. This year, as the defending champions, we are keen to carry forward the momentum.  We have a strategy in place for KPL 2016 and I’m sure we will continue being the champions,” said Kiran Kattimani of Vivid Kreations, Team Owner of defending champions Bijapur Bulls.

Sudhir Hasija, Chairman, Karbonn Mobile meanwhile said: “Karbonn Mobile is very proud to be associated with KSCA and the Karnataka Premier League. It is great to see that KPL has created opportunities to showcase local talent and lifted the quality of Karnataka and Indian cricket. Karbonn Mobile has been connecting people over the years and through associations such as KPL we hope to entertain them too.”


The 5th Edition of the Karbonn KPL powered by Cycle Pure Agarbathies

Dates: September 16 to 25 at Mysuru and September 27 to October 1 at Hubbali

Semifinals and Final at Hubbali on September 30 and October 1

Player Retention: Four players per team

Player Auction to be held on August 10

Roll of Honour (Champions):

2009: Provident Bangalore Rural

2010: Mangalore United

2014: Mysuru Warriors

2015: Bijapur Bulls

The Teams:

  • Bijapur Bulls
  • Belagavi Panthers
  • Bellary Tuskers
  • Hubli Tigers
  • Mangalore United
  • Mysuru Warriors
  • Namma Shivamogga
  • Rock Stars