Kedar Jadhav to feature in domestic T20 tournament ahead of South Africa series

He missed the ODI series against Sri Lanka due to the hamstring injury.

Kedar Jadhav
Kedar Jadhav. (Photo Source: Sportstarlive)

The regular member of the Indian ODI side Kedar Jadhav has opted to play in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament for Maharashtra. He has been named in the squad as the captain of the team which was announced earlier on Friday. The tournament would also mark his return to the competitive cricket as he missed the last home series against Sri Lanka due to a hamstring injury. However, the tournament will also provide him some time in the middle as he will gain confidence ahead of the crucial tour.

Kedar Jadhav has been selected for the six-match ODI series against South Africa soon after passing a fitness test. He has been the vital player for India in the middle-order and also has finished the games for his team more often than not. He would look to win games for Maharashtra during the T20 competition and fine-tune his batting skills. He would also get the much-needed match practice before flying out of India later this month.


Jadhav eyeing IPL auction?

There is also a possibility that Kedar Jadhav might be eyeing the upcoming IPL auction on January 27 and 28. He was not retained by his franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and there are fewer chances of them using Right to Match (RTM) card for him as they possessed a lot of T20 specialist with them.

Maharashtra side also consists of the players like Rahul Tripathi who had a fruitful season with Rising Pune Supergiant in the last season of IPL. He would also look to impress the franchises in the tournament and could well become one of the surprising buys at the event.

Even Vijay Zol has an opportunity to make his mark during the zonal league of the tournament and play an important role for his side. Maharashtra will face Gujarat, Saurashtra, Mumbai and Baroda in the West Zone League. They will play all their games at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot.

Squad: Kedar Jadhav (c), Ankit Bawne, Jagdish Zope, Satyajeet Bachhav, Prayag Bhati, Samad Fallah, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Swapnil Gugale, Shamshuzama Kazi, Domnic Muthuswami, Nikhil Naik, Naushad Shaikh, Rahul Tripathi, Vijay Zol, Shrikant Munde, Divyang Patel.