KL Rahul’s exclusion does not send a signal that he will not be considered for the T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma
Sharma said that the entire team understands Rahul’s ability and his contribution with the willow at the top of the order.
Updated - Mar 21, 2021 11:20 am
The Indian side produced a scintillating performance in the fifth T20I in Ahmedabad to clinch the five-match series 3-2. The Men in Blue were superior to England in every department of the game, and comfortably beat Eoin Morgan and his men by 36 runs in the fifth rubber.
The series decider witnessed a new opening combination for India. Two of India’s greatest limited-overs batsmen of the modern era, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, opened the batting for the hosts. And, the two legendary batsmen put on a scintillating partnership of 94 runs off just nine overs at the top of the order to power the hosts to a win.
And now, Rohit Sharma has opened up on India’s combination for the shortest format. The ‘Hitman’ was of the view that there is still some time left for the T20 World Cup and the team has to analyze what suits them the most. Adding that it was a tough decision to leave out KL Rahul, Rohit added that Rahul has been one of the most prominent players for the Indian side in the T20 format.
“There’s still a long time to go for the World Cup, so it’s still early days to talk about what the batting line-up is going to look like. We have to analyze and think about what suits the team the most. Unfortunately, it was KL (Rahul) who we had to leave out. It was very tough. KL has been one of our key players in the limited-overs format, especially in this format of the game. But looking at his current form, I think the team management decided to go with the best XI,” said Sharma in the post-match press conference.
Rohit Sharma gives his opinion on KL Rahul
Rohit delved further on KL Rahul’s exclusion and told that just because Rahul was not a part of the playing XI in the 5th T20I does not mean that he will not be considered for further selection. Stating that several things might change heading into the T20 World Cup, Rohit added that the entire team understands Rahul’s ability and his contribution with the willow at the top of the order.
“KL’s exclusion does not send a signal that he will not be considered. Things may change as and when we get closer to the World Cup. We do understand his ability and contribution at the top. So, I’m not going to rule out anything right now,” added Rohit.
Rohit also stated that even though the Indian side won the fifth T20I with the current batting order, the entire team needs to analyze what is best for the side.
“It was good for us to win this game with that batting order, but everything will depend on what the captain is thinking at that particular time. I’m sure we need to sit, analyze and recollect our thoughts on what would be the right thing to do for the team,” concluded Rohit.