Kraigg Brathwaite axed ahead of ODI series against Pakistan

Rovman Powell has been called in as a replacement for Brathwaite

View : 22K

2 Min Read

West Indies
West Indies’ batsman Kraigg Brathwaite plays a shot. (Photo by JEKESAI NJIKIZANA/AFP/Getty Images)

The West Indian selection committee axed the right-handed opener batsman Kraigg Brathwaite ahead of the upcoming one-day series against Pakistan. Kraigg Brathwaite had a disappointing ODI series against the English team with scores of 14, 42 and 5 in the three outings.

This decision to axe the opener came in the aftermath of recent poor run with the bat. In the last 10 innings, the Barbadian averaged a non-impressive 27.8. Furthermore, the deeper cause of concern regarding the right-hander is the strike rate of 57.55 to score 278 runs. No one in the history of the game has scored slower than him with a minimum aggregate of 100 runs.

Apart from Kraigg, the other Brathwaite (Carlos) from West Indian lineup too is all set to miss the one-day series as a result of a commitment to the Delhi Daredevil franchise in the Indian Premier League. This is a major blow for their contention for automatic qualification in 2019 World Cup as Brathwaite was one of the key players in the recently concluded T20 series.

However, the absence to Brathwaite paved way for the inclusion of Jamaican all-rounder Rovman Powell. Shannon Gabriel makes a comeback after a side strain injury he picked during England series. Chadwick Walton and Evin Lewis also make into the squad after decent performances in the T20 Series.

Both Pakistan and West Indies have everything to play for in the series starting on 7th April in Guyana. Pakistan is ranked 8th while the 9th position belongs to the West Indies. West Indies have to defeat the visitors to stand a chance to play in the ICC World Cup 2019. Failing to do so would increase the probability of the Caribbeans to take part in the qualifiers ahead of the tournament.

West Indies ODI Squad: Jason Holder (C), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Powell, Rovman Powell, Charlton Walton

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store