IPL Hat-tricks | List of Hat-tricks in the History of IPL

IPL 2021: List of hat-tricks in IPL history

In a tournament like IPL, the game can drift away in very less time if a player delivers an extraordinary performance.

Jaydev Unadkat
Jaydev Unadkat. (Photo: IANS)

In a tournament like IPL, the game can drift away in very less time if a player delivers an extraordinary performance. This can particularly happen when a bowler takes a hat-trick during the innings. It then becomes very difficult for the opposition team to recover from the quick fall of the wickets. It is not very common to see hat-tricks in IPL and there have been some seasons in which not even a single hat-trick was taken by the bowler. On the other hand, in a few of the seasons, we have seen multiple hat-tricks taking place. In this article, we will be listing out all the hat-tricks that have happened in IPL history.

Lakshmipathy Balaji was the first bowler who took the hat-trick in the cash-rich league. He bowled a brilliant spell against the Punjab team in the inaugural season where he took 5 wickets for 24 runs in his 4 overs. Amit Mishra and Makhaya Ntini were the other two bowlers who picked up a hat-trick in the same season.

The second season of IPL was quite unique in terms of hat-tricks taken because this time non-regular bowlers achieved the landmark. Yuvraj Singh picked up 2 hat-tricks while playing for Punjab in 2009 while Rohit Sharma also took a hat-trick where he featured for the Hyderabad team. 

In the next three years, there were three bowlers who were successful in taking a hat-trick in each season. It was Praveen Kumar in 2010, Amit Mishra in 2011 and Ajit Chandila in 2012. Amit Mishra again took a hat-trick in 2013 along with Sunil Narine who bowled wonderfully for the Kolkata Knight Riders team. 

In the year 2014, both the players who took hat-trick were from Rajasthan Royals. These cricketers were Shane Watson and Pravin Tambe picking up a hat-trick against SRH and KKR respectively. Axar Patel played for the Punjab team in 2016 and bowled a brilliant spell of 4/21 including a hat-trick against Gujarat.

In IPL 2017, there were 3 hat-tricks that occurred with Jaydev Unadkat, Andrew Tye and Samuel Badree achieving the special landmark. Among them, Badree delivered the most economical spell picking up 4 wickets for only 9 runs in 4 overs. The last set of hat-tricks in the IPL happened in the 2019 season when Shreyas Gopal and Sam Curran had some great games with the ball.   

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) pacer Harshal Patel turned out to be the hero for the Virat Kohli led the side with the ball in hand against the Mumbai Indians (MI) outfit on 26th September 2021. Patel dismissed Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, and  Rahul Chahar in the first three balls of the 16th over to join the list of elites.

Hat-tricks list in IPL

Player Bowling Figures Against Year
Lakshmipathy Balaji 5/24 KXIP 2008
Amit Mishra 5/17 DEC 2008
Makhaya Ntini 4/21 KKR 2008
Yuvraj Singh 3/22 RCB 2009
Rohit Sharma 4/6 MI 2009
Yuvraj Singh 3/13 DEC 2009
Praveen Kumar 3/18 RR 2010
Amit Mishra 4/9 KXIP 2011
Ajit Chandila 4/13 PWI 2012
 Sunil Narine 3/33 KXIP 2013
Amit Mishra 4/19 PWI 2013
Pravin Tambe 3/26 KKR 2014
Shane Watson 3/13 SRH 2014
Axar Patel 4/21 GL 2016
Samuel Badree 4/9 MI 2017
Andrew Tye 5/17 RPS 2017
Jaydev Unadkat 5/30 SRH 2017
Sam Curran 4/11 DC 2019
Shreyas Gopal 3/12 RCB 2019
Harshal Patel 4/17 RCB 2021

*Last updated on 28 Sep 2021.