Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars, 1st Match - Live Cricket Score

Big Bash League, 2022 | 13 Dec 2022, Tue, 1:45 PM IST | Manuka Oval, Canberra

ResultSydney Thunder won by 1 wickets


122/8 (20 ov)



123/9 (20 ov)

Man of the Match : Gurinder Sandhu

Joe ClarkeJM Clarkec Jason Sangha b Gurinder Sandhu111120100.00
Tom RogersTom Rogersc Chris Green b DR Sams141011140.00
Joe BurnsJoe BurnsRetired hurt181620112.50
Nick LarkinNick Larkinc AI Ross b Fazalhaq Farooqi25261096.15
Marcus StoinisMP Stoinisc Fazalhaq Farooqi b Chris Green01000.00
Hilton CartwrightHWR Cartwrightb Fazalhaq Farooqi12131092.31
Beau WebsterBJ Websterc Chris Green b Brendan Doggett490044.44
Luke WoodL Woodc Rilee Rossouw b Gurinder Sandhu6110054.55
Nathan Coulter-NileNM Coulter-Nilec Brendan Doggett b DR Sams151101136.36
Trent BoultTrent BoultNot out470057.14
Adam ZampaA ZampaNot out460066.67
Extra( b - 3, w - 3, no - 1, lb - 2, p - 0 )9
Total( 6.10 Runs per over )122 (8 Wkts, 20 Ov)

Fall of Wickets

24-1 (Joe Clarke, 2.6), 31-2 (Tom Rogers, 4.1), 54-3 (Marcus Stoinis, 8.3), 83-4 (Hilton Cartwright, 12.3), 84-5 (Nick Larkin, 12.5), 93-6 (Luke Wood, 15.4), 97-7 (Beau Webster, 16.3), 115-8 (Nathan Coulter-Nile, 18.5)

Gurinder Sandhu40232005.75
Fazalhaq Farooqi40202005.00
Daniel Sams40212005.25
Brendan Doggett30261138.67
Chris Green40191004.75
Jason Sangha1080008.00

Matthew GilkesM Gilkesc (sub Brody Couch) b Trent Boult02000.00
Alex HalesAD Halesb NM Coulter-Nile161211133.33
Rilee RossouwRR Rossouwc NM Coulter-Nile b Trent Boult01000.00
Jason SanghaJason Sanghab A Zampa24252096.00
Alex RossAI Rossb A Zampa282730103.70
Daniel SamsDR Samsc Tom Rogers b NM Coulter-Nile350060.00
Oliver DaviesOliver Daviesb NM Coulter-Nile111010110.00
Chris GreenChris Greenc (sub Brody Couch) b BJ Webster17200085.00
Gurinder SandhuGurinder SandhuNot out201621125.00
Fazalhaq FarooqiFazalhaq Farooqib BJ Webster01000.00
Brendan DoggettBrendan DoggettNot out1100100.00
Extra( b - 1, w - 2, no - 0, lb - 0, p - 0 )3
Total( 6.15 Runs per over )123 (9 Wkts, 20 Ov)

Fall of Wickets

0-1 (Matthew Gilkes, 0.2), 0-2 (Rilee Rossouw, 0.3), 28-3 (Alex Hales, 4.2), 47-4 (Jason Sangha, 8.2), 57-5 (Daniel Sams, 9.5), 71-6 (Oliver Davies, 11.6), 89-7 (Alex Ross, 14.4), 115-8 (Chris Green, 19.1), 115-9 (Fazalhaq Farooqi, 19.2)

Trent Boult40212015.25
Luke Wood40360009.00
Nathan Coulter-Nile40193014.75
Beau Webster40192004.75
Adam Zampa40272006.75



Big Bash League

Date & Time

13 Dec 2022, Tue, 1:45 PM IST


Sydney Thunder won the toss & elected to field


Manuka Oval, Canberra


Gerard Abood (Australia), Paul Wilson (Australia), Shawn Craig (Australia, TV)

Match Referee

Bob Stratford (Australia)

weatherWeather Report

Clear Sky

PredictionWin Prediction

Melbourne Stars

pitchPitch Condition


ScoreAvg 1st Inning Score



Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars will take on each other in the season opener of the Big Bash League 2022 on Tuesday (December 13) at the Manuka Oval in Canberra. Thunder won nine out of 14 matches last season and qualified for the playoffs. They lost the knockout game against Adelaide Strikers by a mere margin of six runs before getting eliminated. They released a couple of players, including Usman Khawaja, who captained the side last season. They managed to acquire the services of David Warner, who will be available for selection after the Test series against South Africa. David Willey was also picked during the draft; however, he has been replaced by Fazalhaq Farooqi after Willey decided to withdraw from the competition. Rilee Rossouw is another addition to the squad and will likely continue his excellent form from the T20 World Cup. Jason Sangha finished the last season as the leading run-scorer and is named the side's captain for this season.

Melbourne Stars has named Adam Zampa as the side's captain this season. He has replaced Glenn Maxwell, who broke his leg last month and has been replaced by Tom Rogers. Trent Boult has also been picked for the side; however, he will be leaving the tournament midway before the start of the ILT20 tournament. Cambell Kellaway, the 20-year-old batter, has signed a one-year deal with the team. He recently scored a century for Cricket Australia XI in the practice game against South Africa. Luke Wood, the left-arm pacer who made his international debut for England this year, is also there in the squad and will likely feature in the playing 11 for this opening game.


Oliver Davies
Brendan Doggett
Alex Hales
Matthew Gilkeswk
Chris Green
Rilee Rossouw
Jason SanghaC
Gurinder Sandhu
Alex Ross
Daniel Sams
Fazalhaq Farooqi


Usman Qadir
Tanveer Sangha
Ben Cutting
Nathan McAndrew
Sam Whiteman
Baxter J Holt
David Warner
Toby Gray
Blake Nikitaras

Trent Boult
Joe Burns
Hilton Cartwright
Joe Clarkewk
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Nick Larkin
Marcus Stoinis
Beau Webster
Luke Wood
Adam ZampaC
Tom Rogers


Brody Couch
Liam Hatcher
Clint Hinchliffe
Glenn Maxwell
Campbell Kellaway
Tom O'Connell
Sam Elliott
Cameron McClure
Pavel Florin