Manoj Tiwary elected captain of India A team against touring West Indies cricket team

Manoj Tiwary elected captain of India A team against touring West Indies cricket team

Manoj Tiwary
Manoj Tiwary elected captain of India A team. | Photo source : EspnCricinfo

Bengal middle-order batsman Manoj Tiwary has been elected as the captain of India A team for the practice matches. India A will host the touring West Indies team for two one-day matches in Mumbai.
Manoj who has been a consistent performer for Bengal and in list A games as well, has been rewarded with the captaincy role. Almost a regular name in the seniors team though not in the XI Manoj lost his spot due to injury.

The two games will be played at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on October 3 and the second at the Wankhede Stadium on the 5th of October. It is before the star-studded Indian team led by MS Dhoni gives the visiting West Indies a real competition.
At the same time selectors have ensured no cake walk for the visitors. The team also includes big names like Murli Vijay who was India’s highest run getter in England test series. Young Sanju Samson who is yet to make his debut but was a part of the Indian ODI squad in England.

Dhawal Kulkarni will be too eager to make it big this time, as he had a wicket less debut ODI in England last month. Karn Sharma too as he did not manage to get a game in presence of both Ashwin and Jadeja.
Other familiar faces are former U-19 captain Unmukt Chand, Indian test player Stuart Binny. Leg spinner Amit Mishra, J & K all-rounder Parvez Rasool.

The one’s given a chance for good recent form are Karun Nair, Kedar Jadhav, Jasprit Bhumrah, Rahul Shukla and Gurkeerat Singh Mann among others. This will be a great chance and exposure for the young guys to help themselves a call into the national cricket team. While those who are a part of the team but yet to get a game can prove their metal and force the team management to fit them in for at least a few games.

The Squad:

Manoj Tiwary (captain), Unmukt Chand, Murali Vijay, Karun Nair, Kedar Jadhav, Sanju Samson, Stuart Binny, Parvez Rasool, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Dhawal Kulkarni, Rahul Shukla, Karn Sharma, Gurkeerat Singh Maan.