MCA announce 2 crore prize money for the champion Mumbai team

MCA announce 2 crore prize money for the champion Mumbai team

The champion Mumbai team with the Ranji Trophy 2015-16 trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Mumbai won the Ranji Trophy final against Saurashtra by an innings and 21 runs to clinch the title for the 41st time today. After a comprehensive performance with both bat and ball to win the championship, there was more good news for the team as the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) announced a cash prize of Rs. 2 crore for the triumphant team.

“On behalf of the Mumbai Cricket Association, President Sharad Pawar has announced a bonus of Rs 2 crores to the winning team,” said a media release from MCA Joint Secretaries P V Shetty and UnmeshKhanvilkar.

“President of MCA has (also) congratulated the team for winning the Ranji Trophy. This is the 41st time that Mumbai (has) won the National Championship,” it added.

Earlier, the Aditya Tare led side ended Saurashtra’s dream run after restricting them to 235 in the first innings. In reply, Shreyas Iyer powered the team to 371 with a good lead of 136 runs. In the second innings, Saurashtra stumbled and were all out for 115, thus giving them a thumping win in less than 3 days.

MCA Vice-President and former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar also hailed the team’s performance.

“It was a great win and a fantastic team effort. My heartiest congratulations to the entire team, support staff, members of the Cricket Improvement Committee and each and every cricket-loving Mumbaikar,” said the former chief selector.

This comes in addition to the Rs. 2 crores prize money the champion Mumbai team will receive from the BCCI for winning the Ranji Trophy title.

How exciting was the final match? – Ranji Trophy Final Review: Mumbai beat Saurashtra for their 41st title