MI Emirates announce squad for inaugural UAE ILT20

“I am delighted with our dynamic group of 14 players that will be part of our #Onefamily and represent ‘MI Emirates’," MI owner Akash Ambani said.

Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Karthik Nair

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 25.4K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Mumbai Indians-owned MI Emirates have officially announced their squad ahead of the inaugural edition of the UAE’s International League T20. The squad based in Abu Dhabi includes a bunch of past and present talents of the five-time champions, including the likes of renowned West Indies players Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, and Nicholas Pooran, and New Zealand pace spearhead Trent Boult.

All the above-mentioned players will be an integral part of the MI Emirates for the inaugural edition of the new UAE-based franchise tournament and are all set to don MI’s traditional blue and gold jerseys. The Emirates Cricket Board in June had already confirmed that the inaugural ILT20 League will be played from January 6 to February 12, 2023.

A very warm welcome to all players of MI Emirates: Akash Ambani

“I am delighted with our dynamic group of 14 players that will be part of our #Onefamily and represent ‘MI Emirates’. We are glad to have one of our key pillars, Kieron Pollard continue with the MI Emirates. Joining us back are Dwayne Bravo, Trent Boult, and Nicholas Pooran. A very warm welcome to all players of MI Emirates. MI is known to strike a balance between experience and investing in young talent to unlock their true potential which will help us play the MI way. This is what fans expect from us and will drive the MI ethos forward,” said Akash M Ambani, chairman of Reliance Jio.

According to MI’s official statement, “The players have been signed as per the league guidelines and the local players from UAE will be added to the squad in the near future”.

Other international players picked by MI Emirates, include the likes of veteran South African spinner Imran Tahir, the Afghanistan trio of Najibullah Zadran, Fazalhaq Farooqui, and Zahir Khan, among others. While the UAE’s International League T20 looks forward to making a mark instantly in the new year, it is to be noted that the tournament clashes with other events like the eagerly-anticipated CSA T20 League and Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL).

MI Emirates squad for ILT20

Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Nicholas Pooran, Trent Boult, Andre Fletcher, Imran Tahir, Samit Patel, Will Smeed, Jordan Thompson, Najibullah Zadran, Zahir Khan, Fazalhaq Farooqui, Bradley Wheal, Bas De Leede