Momentum One-Day Cup 2020: Match 3, Cape Cobras vs Warriors – Dream11 Fantasy Cricket Tips – Playing XI, Pitch Report & Injury Update

Pieter Malan aggregated 929 runs in 21 innings across last two editions of the MODC.

Pieter Malan
Pieter Malan. (Photo by Anne Laing/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Match Details:

The 3rd match of the Momentum One-Day Cup 2020 will be played between Cape Cobras and Warriors at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn.

The match starts at 10:00 AM local time (8:00 AM GMT) (1:30 PM IST).



Cape Cobras and Warriors, the semi-finalists of the 2019 Momentum One-Day Cup with start their respective campaigns in the 2020 edition on Sunday. The Oudtshoorn’s Recreation Ground will be hosting this fixture which starts at 10 AM local time. Cobras, the home team, will be led by Dane Piedt and will be having the likes of Pieter Malan, Zubayr Hamza and Rory Kleinveldt in their ranks. On the other hand, the Warriors will be led by Rudi Second. The likes of Matthew Breetzke, Marco Marais and Andrew Birch are present in their squad.

Weather Condition/Report:

The Recreation ground is expected to be under clouds in the morning but the weather is likely to improve by scheduled start of the game.

Pitch Condition/Report:

The Oudtshoorn’s Recreation Ground hosted one match during the previous edition of the MODC. The home team Cape Cobras posted 298/5 while batting first and defeated the Lions by 21 runs. However, the Provisional 50-over competitions in the last two years had an average first innings score around 230. Targets below 250 were seen getting chased down comfortably.

Average first innings score: 298 (MODC matches in 2018/19)

Record of chasing teams: Won – 0, Lost – 1

Injury and Availability:

(Will be added when there is an update)

Probable Playing XIs:

Cape Cobras:

Aviwe Mgijima, Pieter Malan, Zubayr Hamza, Simon Khomari, Jason Smith, George Linde, Rory Kleinveldt, Dane Piedt (C), Dane Paterson, Thando Ntini, Nandre Burger.

Bench – Hanno Kotze, Mihlali Mpongwana.


Rudi Second (C), Gihahn Cloete, Matthew Breetzke, Sinethemba Qeshile, Yaseen Vallie, Marco Marais, Onke Nyaku, Aya Gqamane, Andrew Birch, Lesiba Ngoepe, Sithembile Langa.

Bench – Glenton Stuurman, Dyllan Matthews.

Top Picks:

Aya Gqamane didn’t feature in the previous One-Day Cup but bagged 17 wickets across 12 matches in the MODC 2017-18. He is also capable of scoring handy runs down the order. Pieter Malan aggregated 929 runs across last two MODC seasons in 21 innings with help of two hundreds and six fifties. George Linde bagged 23 wickets in those two seasons alongside scoring 429 runs with help of three fifties. 21-year-old Matthew Breetzke scored his maiden first-class century last month. He had decent MSL 2019-20 with the bat where he got starts in most matches. Breetzke scored an unbeaten 131 in the previous edition of MODC but only scored 335 runs in 9 innings overall.

Captain and Vice-Captain Selection:

Captain – Pieter Malan, George Linde, Matthew Breetzke

Vice-Captain – Jason Smith, Rudi Second, Aya Gqamane

Suggested Playing XI No.1 for Fantasy Cricket:

Keeper – Gihahn Cloete

BattersMatthew Breetzke (VC), Sinethemba Qeshile, Pieter Malan (C), Zubayr Hamza

All-Rounders – Jason Smith, George Linde

Bowlers – Dane Paterson, Andrew Birch, Nandre Burger, Sithembile Langa

Suggested Playing XI No.2 for Fantasy Cricket:

KeeperRudi Second (VC)

Batters – Matthew Breetzke, Simon Khomari, Pieter Malan, Marco Marais

All-Rounders – Jason Smith, George Linde (C), Aya Gqamane

Bowlers – Dane Paterson, Andrew Birch, Nandre Burger

Expert Advice:

Picking only one of Rudi Second and Gihahn Cloete will be a safe option in the fantasy team. Rudi is more a player who is consistent at scoring 40s and 50s while Cloete is more of a hit or nothing player. In the last season, Gihahn scored 333 runs across 10 innings which included 111-run knock. Second aggregated 285 runs in only six innings with three fifties but his highest was less than 75.

Probable Winners:

The Cape Cobras have a stronger squad compared to the Warriors and they should be winning this game.

*Disclaimer: This team is based on the understanding, analysis and instinct of the author. While selecting your team, consider the points mentioned and make your own decision.