Mosaddek Hossain might be sent to Thailand for eye treatment

Mosaddek Hossain might be sent to Thailand for eye treatment

If we fail to see significant improvement, we will send him to Thailand for better treatment: BCB official

Mosaddek Hossain
Bangladesh’s Mosaddek Hossain. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Bangladesh’s Mosaddek Hossain, who was left out of the seven-day conditioning camp in Chittagong ahead of the Australia series more than a fortnight back due to an eye injury, is scheduled to be taken abroad to Thailand for better treatment, in case his condition doesn’t improve in two weeks. Mosaddek earlier claimed that some hard dust particles from the pitch hit his eyes and there was constant discharging from it.

However, according to reports by the medical team of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), the all-rounder is suffering from a viral infection in the corneal region of the left eye. The staff is keeping a close eye on Hossain’s condition and are likely to wait for a couple of weeks before making the call.

“Some hard dust particles hit me during a practice session. Water is falling from eyes due to it,” the all-rounder claimed prior to the conditioning camp. “Mosaddek has a viral infection in the corner of left eye. If we will fail to see significant improvement within several weeks, we will suggest him to send to Thailand for better treatment,” claimed BCB medical office report according to bdcrictime.

“I’m taking rest and doing whatever they have told me to do. The rest of the decisions will be taken by doctors,” Mosaddek answered after the diagnosis from BCB medical office. The services of the Dhaka Dynamites player remains crucial for the Bangladesh cricket team, especially looking at the future assignments. They will travel to South Africa soon after the two-match series against Australia starting 27th August. Mominul Haque has been named as a replacement for Mosaddek.

Bangladesh squad for the 1st Test against Australia

Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (C), Shakib Al Hasan, Taijul Islam, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Mominul Haque, Liton Das, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed