MS Dhoni leads the list of top Twitter trends of IPL 2017

MS Dhoni was given a warm reception on every ground this year at the IPL and no wonder he was the most popular cricketer on Twitter this year.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: Twitter)

A number of fans take it to micro-blogging site Twitter to express their views on cricket and the IPL was no different. This year, twitter introduced special player emojis of the biggest stars in IPL 2017. 30 top players were given emojis and the list was topped by none other than MS Dhoni.

The wicket-keeper batsman might have left the captaincy of the national side but is still the most popular cricketer in India. The final data released by Twitter shows that Dhoni’s emoji was the most tweeted one during the tournament. He did not have the best of tournaments as he could gather just 290 runs at 2636 with just one fifty to his name. His strike rate of 116 was below his career statistic. Yet the man from Jharkhand was given loud roars and applauds wherever he went to play in the 45-day tournament.


Hashtag #MSDhoni found a place in the top 5 used hashtags during the IPL. The other four were: #CricketMeriJaan by champions Mumbai Indians, #IPLFinals, #AmiKKR by Kolkata Knight Riders and #MI.

In IPL 2017, eventual champions Mumbai Indians were the most mentioned team followed by Shah Rukh Khan-owned KKR. Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore; last year’s champions, Sunrisers Hyderabad and finalists Rising Pune Supergiant made the rest of the numbers in the top 5 popular teams on Twitter.

Hashtag #RPSVMI topped the list of the most mentioned matches this year as both played the finals on Sunday. The 2nd qualifier between Mumbai and KKR (#MIVKKR) and the eliminator clash between Sunrisers and KKR (#SRHVKKR) were ranked second and third respectively.

The 10th edition of the IPL saw some nail-biting games where bowlers played a fair part in winning the games for their side. As many as 23 Man of the Match awards went to the bowlers this year, the most in the history of the IPL.