MSK Prasad picks India’s Test and T20I XIIs for matches on same day after coronavirus pandemic

MSK Prasad picks India’s Test and T20I XIIs for matches on same day after coronavirus pandemic

Prasad picked Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, the two leading run-scorers in T20Is, for the Test side.

MSK Prasad
MSK Prasad. (Photo Source: Twitter)

MSK Prasad, the former chief of Team India’s selection panel, picked India’s XII for Tests and T20I if the two formats are to be played on the same day. In the last few months, the coronavirus pandemic has made a mockery of cricket tournaments around the globe. India have also suffered due to it.

To start with, their ODI series against South Africa had to be shelved after a washed-off match in Dharamsala. Therefore, going into the future India may have to play two matches simultaneously to cover up. Prasad put forth his views to ESPNcricinfo, when asked to pick the best elevens.

MSK Prasad makes his picks

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are the two-leading run-scorers in T20Is. In fact, even as Rohit has four tons in the format, Virat has an average over 50. However, Prasad picked them for the Test side. Last year, Rohit notched his maiden Test double century against South Africa, opening the batting. Instead of Rohit, the veteran went for Shikhar Dhawan as KL Rahul’s T20I opening partner.

Jasprit Bumrah has been devastating in T20I cricket courtesy his ability to bowling yorkers and cutters. But Prasad included him in the Test XI. Last year, Bumrah became the third bowler after Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan to pick up a Test hat-trick. He got it against West Indies. The young speedster hasn’t had the best of years after he returned from a lower back injury.

It wasn’t a surprise that Prasad picked Wriddhiman Saha for Tests and Rishabh Pant for T20Is. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been included in the T20I team and is the most experienced bowler in the lineup by a country mile. Ravi Ashwin and Ravi Jadeja lead the spin attack in the Test team.

On the other hand, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav, are the tweakers for T20Is. Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar and Hardik Pandya are the pace bowling options in the shorter format along with Bhuvneshwar. In the Test team, Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma are the pacers.

Here’s the Test XII  

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami

Here’s the T20I XII

KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini