Mustafizur Rahman to leave the ongoing IPL on April 25

The Bangladeshi paceman played just one game for SRH against the Mumbai Indians this season.

Mustafizur Rahman
Mustafizur Rahman (Photo Source: BCCI)

Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman will have to exit from the ongoing Indian Premier League on April 25 and fly back home. The left-arm bowler will then travel with the national team to Sussex for a preparatory camp before Bangladesh clash against hosts Ireland and New Zealand in a tri-series.

Mustafizur had earlier made a delayed entry into the 10th edition of the IPL as the Bangladesh Cricket Board wanted him to recover after a well-fought tour in Sri Lanka. The Sunrisers Hyderabad were thus able to acquire his services only after a few games from the start of the tournament.


The Bangladeshi paceman played just one game for SRH against the Mumbai Indians this season. He didn’t have a good outing against the two-time champions, as Mustafizur ended with figures of 0-34 in just above 2 overs that he bowled.

Mustafizur Rahman was instrumental in the Sunrisers’ journey to their maiden title in 2016. The Fizz played a total of 16 games, picking up 17 wickets at an economy rate of 6.90. He drew a lot of attention with his clever bowling against some of the batsmen in the world.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on the Rising Pune Supergiant on Saturday, April 22 at the MCA Stadium. The team will next travel to Bengaluru to face off against RCB on April 25 itself, the day Mustafizur is scheduled to leave. Given the circumstances, the speedster is unlikely to get a game against RPS, as the Sunrisers bowling line-up is currently doing a tidy job.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is already wreaking havoc in the IPL and is head and shoulders above the rest of the bowlers in the tournament. Meanwhile, SRH have discovered a composed death overs bowler in Siddarth Kaul, who twice got the Sunrisers to victory by keeping things quiet in the final over of the match.

Bangladesh are scheduled to kick off the Champions Trophy as they clash against hosts England on June 1. The Tigers will then face off against Australia and New Zealand on June 5 and 9 respectively.