Netherlands name 15-player squad for ODI series against Afghanistan

Netherlands name 15-player squad for ODI series against Afghanistan

The three-match ODI series gets underway on January 21.

Netherlands Cricket team
Netherlands Cricket team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Netherlands have announced their 15-player squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Afghanistan. The action gets underway on January 21 with all matches taking place at the Asian Town Cricket Stadium in Doha. It will indeed be a stern challenge for the Dutch team as Afghanistan have taken giant strides in international cricket lately. They also have several prominent players in the ranks.

While Netherlands coach Ryan Campbell is aware of the stiff task, he has backed his players to put up an impressive show. It must be noted that the upcoming series is a part of ODI World Cup Super League, a qualifier for the 2023 World Cup in India. Hence, both teams have all the reasons to unleash their A-game in the three-match affair.

Playing Afghanistan in the Middle East will be one of the toughest tests: Netherlands coach Ryan Campbell

Meanwhile, Campbell acknowledged the fact that the likes of Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, and Mujeeb Ur Rehman have been a formidable force in white-ball cricket. “Playing Afghanistan in the middle east will be one of the toughest tests we will face but a challenge that I know the players will embrace. Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, and Mujeeb Ul Rahman have become brilliant franchise players right around the world,” said Campbell in an official statement.

“Again I have picked this squad with one eye on the future. Asad Zulfiqar comes into the squad to give us a genuine top-order option as well as being the back-up wicketkeeper to Scott Edwards,” he added. Campbell also backed youngsters Aryan Dutt and Boris Gorlee to make a mark.

“Aryan Dutt and Boris Gorlee get more opportunities to push their case for what will be a big summer of cricket, as does leg spinner Philippe Boissevain. The improvement in these youngsters will be vital for us going forward,” asserted Campbell further.

Netherlands squad: Pieter Seelaar (VOC) (Captain), Colin Ackermann (Leicestershire County CC), Max O’Dowd (VOC), Scott Edwards (VOC), Brandon Glover (Northamptonshire County CC), Fred Klaassen (Kent County CC), Ryan Klein (HBS), Boris Gorlee (HCC), Clayton Floyd (HCC), Saqib Zulfiqar (Punjab CCR), Asad Zulfiqar (Punjab CCR), Bas de Leede (VCC), Vivian Kingma (VCC), Aryan Dutt (VCC), Phillipe Boissevain (VCC)