New Zealand set to pick second-string squad for Australia ODIs and T20Is

The Black Caps are set to play the limited-overs matches from January 30 to February 8.

New Zealand cricket
New Zealand cricket. (Photo by INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP via Getty Images)

View : 5.3K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

New Zealand are set to pick a second-string squad for their upcoming tour of Australia keeping in mind the hassles of staying in bio-secure bubbles. The Aussies are set to play three ODIs and a solitary T20I on Australian soil from Sunday, January 30 to Tuesday, February 8.

Thereafter, South Africa’s tour of New Zealand is scheduled to get underway on Thursday, February 17. Gary Stead, the Black Caps’ head coach, said that the squad for the Australia squad won’t involve any Test cricketers. The Kiwis will play two home Tests against the Proteas.

New Zealand coach shares his opinions  

“I don’t think any Test players will be involved (in the Australia series),” Stead was quoted as saying to SENZ.

“Just with the crossover and isolation at the moment, it means we’d only have two or three days in between the South Africa (Test) series as well,” he stated.

Prior to the T20 World Cup 2021 in Oman and the United Arab Emirates, New Zealand played a bilateral T20I series against Bangladesh. For the series in Dhaka, the Kiwis picked a set of players, who weren’t a part of the multi-nation event.

The Black Caps also picked the same squad for the series in Pakistan, but the games were cancelled due to certain reasons.

“It’s highly likely that you’ll see a side somewhat like how we selected for Bangladesh before the T20 World Cup as well when none of our T20 World Cup players toured there; it’ll be similar, but with a Test slant on it this time,” Stead added.

Despite not having the best players for the Australia series, Stead said that the team will go in with “high expectations”.

After finishing as the runners-up in the T20 World Cup, New Zealand played a T20I and Test series in India. Thereafter, they locked horns with Bangladesh in two Test matches at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui and the Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

As far as the Australia series is concerned, Perth, Hobart, and Sydney will host the three ODIs on Sunday, January 30, Wednesday, February 2, and Saturday, February 5. The Manuka Oval in Canberra will host the only T20I on Tuesday, February 8.