New Zealand vs India, 2020: 2nd ODI – New Zealand’s rare ODI series win over India, Guptill breaks his fifty-less streaks, Kohli-Southee battle and more stats

New Zealand vs India, 2020: 2nd ODI – New Zealand’s rare ODI series win over India, Guptill breaks his fifty-less streaks, Kohli-Southee battle and more stats

All the statistical highlights from New Zealand’s second straight win in the ODI series.

Kyle Jamieson
Kyle Jamieson. (Photo Source: Twitter)

New Zealand took a winning lead of 2-0 in the 3-match ODI series against India as they clinched the 2nd ODI in Auckland by 22 runs. Martin Guptill’s 79 and Ross Taylor’s unbeaten 73 played a key role in guiding New Zealand to 273/8 despite losing seven wickets for 55 runs in the middle phase. India lacked big partnerships as the Kiwis kept taking for wickets in the first half of the chase.

They were reduced to 96/5 and were further seven down for 153 by 32nd over. However, Ravindra Jadeja (55) and Navdeep Saini (45) made an unsuccessful attempt at chasing down the target with a 76-run partnership for the 8th wicket.

All the statistical highlights from New Zealand’s second straight win in the ODI series:

A rare ODI series loss for India:

2 – Only the 2nd time since 2003 that New Zealand managed to win an ODI series against India. They won the 2014 5-match ODI series at home by 4-0 margin. During this period, India defeated New Zealand at home in 2010, 2016 and 2017 series and registered away series wins over the Kiwis in 2009 and 2019.

2016 – The last instance of India losing first two matches of an ODI series was back in 2016 against Australia in Australia where they lost the 5-match ODI series by 4-1. Between these two series losses, India won all the five ODI series where they were 0-1 down.

India misses out on yet another big chase:

0 – Number of times India successfully chased down a target of 245+ against New Zealand in New Zealand. They lost seven of the eight ODI matches in New Zealand against the home side while chasing 245+ targets. The 2014 Auckland ODI ended in a Tie when India were chasing a target of 315.

India’s highest successful chase against New Zealand in New Zealand is 244 in the 2019 Mount Maunganui ODI match where Rohit Sharma (62) and Virat Kohli (60) scored half-centuries.

Five India batsmen dismissed ‘bowled’:

2012 – As many as five Indian batsmen in this match were dismissed ‘bowled’ by the New Zealand bowlers. The last instance of five Indians getting bowled in an ODI was back in 2012 Chennai ODI against Pakistan.

During the same 2012-13 season, seven Indian batters were bowled in their first innings of the Chennai Test against Australia. It was the last instance of five or more Indian players getting dismissed via bowled in an innings in International Cricket.

A debut to remember for Kyle Jamieson:

2 – Kyle Jamieson is only the 2nd New Zealand player to score 20+ runs while batting at No.10 or lower and also take two wickets on ODI debut. James Franklin also scored an unbeaten 25 on his ODI debut against Zimbabwe in the 2001 Taupo ODI where he recorded figures of 2/28.

Southee gets Kohli again:

6 – Tim Southee now has dismissed Virat Kohli in ODI cricket on six instances; the most number of times he has dismissed a player in this format. Ravi Rampaul (6) and Southee are the only bowlers who dismissed Kohli on as many as six occasions in ODI cricket.

9 – Southee is now the first bowler to dismiss Virat Kohli on nine occasions in International cricket. Kohli got out to James Anderson and Graeme Swann on eight instances apiece. Dimuth Karunaratne (10), Rohit Sharma (9) and Tamim Iqbal (9) are the other players whom Southee has dismissed nine or more times in International cricket.

Home milestones for Guptill and Taylor:

1 – Martin Guptill (4021) and Ross Taylor (4059) became the first set of players to complete 4000 runs in ODI cricket on New Zealand soil. Guptill completed this milestone when he went past his individual score of 58 while Taylor when he was on 14.

92 – Martin Guptill needed 92 innings for completing 4000 ODI runs in New Zealand. He is one of the 13 players with 4000+ ODI runs in a country and the joint 3rd fastest among those. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers achieved this milestone respectively in India and South Africa taking only 78 and 91 innings. Sachin Tendulkar also needed 92 innings for completing 4000 ODI runs in India.

Yet another fifty down the order for Jadeja:

10/12 – Ravindra Jadeja now has 12 half-centuries in ODI cricket with ten of them coming while batting at No.7 and a lower position. Overall, ten out of 12 ODI fifties by Jadeja came in the losing cause. His unbeaten 61 in the 2013 Kochi ODI against England is the only ODI fifty by Jadeja to result in an Indian win. He scored 66* during the Tied 2014 ODI against New Zealand also in Auckland.

New Zealand says no to spin:

48.3 – All the 48.3 overs bowled by New Zealand in this game were through their pace bowlers. This was the first time in nine years that New Zealand bowled as many overs with their speedsters. The last such instance was during the 2011 Harare ODI against Zimbabwe were their pacemen delivered 49 overs.

Guptill breaks his fifty-less streak:

11 – Martin Guptill’s 79-run knock in this game is his first fifty in last 11 ODI innings. His previous fifty in this format came in New Zealand’s opening game of the CWC 2019 against Sri Lanka where he scored an unbeaten 73.

11 – Guptill’s fifty in this match is also his first in the last 11 ODI innings against India. His last ODI fifty against India came during the Indian tour in October 2016.

Rare streaks for Bumrah and Kohli:

3 – Jasprit Bumrah went wicketless in three consecutive matches for the first time in his ODI career. Across his last three ODI innings, Bumrah conceded 155 runs in the 30 overs he bowled. In his first 60 ODI matches, Bumrah went wicketless only once in consecutive matches.

3 – Virat Kohli has been dismissed bowled in each of his last three ODI innings. This is the first time that Kohli has been dismissed bowled in three consecutive innings/matches in his ODI career.