New Zealand vs India: 2nd T20I- Most hilarious memes from the match

New Zealand vs India: 2nd T20I- Most hilarious memes from the match

India won with seven balls to spare.

Krunal Pandya
Krunal Pandya. (Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)

India were slapped with a humungous 80-defeat by New Zealand at the Westpac Stadium in Wellington. However, the Men in Blue made a stupendous comeback in the second encounter at the Eden Park in Auckland. India, led by Rohit Sharma, won by seven wickets and drew level in the series with one match remaining to be played at the Seddon Park in Auckland on Sunday, February 10.

Grandhomme takes charge

The Black Caps won the toss and opted to bat first and it backfired for them in the initial stages as they lost wickets at pretty quick intervals. Tim Seifert and Colin Munro scored 12 each. Even as Seifert was the first wicket to fall to speedster Bhuvneshwar Kumar, left-arm spinner Krunal Pandya accounted for Munro’s wicket. Kane Williamson looked promising with 20 and he fell prey to Pandya.

Pandya also nipped out Daryl Mitchell in the last ball of the mandatory power-play. Colin de Grandhomme and Ross Taylor thereafter restored sanity back into the proceedings with a stand of 77 runs from 47 deliveries. Grandhomme notched his fifty in 27 balls. Taylor also added a valuable 42 runs from 36 deliveries with three fours. The Kiwis racked up 158 for eight in 20 overs.

Rohit dominates   

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan got India off to a flying start courtesy of a stand of 79 runs from 56 balls. The partnership put the visitors in the driver’s seat. Sharma was the more aggressive of the two and he accomplished half-century in 28 deliveries. Leg-break bowler Ish Sodhi pinned the 31-year-old from Nagpur in the 10th over. Dhawan perished after scoring 30 from 31 balls.

In the meantime, Rohit also surpassed Martin Guptill to become the all-time leading run-scorer in T20Is. Lockie Ferguson accounted for Dhawan’s wicket in the 11th over. Rishabh Pant also turned up with a decent knock of 40 runs from 28 balls with four boundaries and one six. Vijay Shankar and MS Dhoni just had the formalities of taking the national team over the line.

Here are the memes

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on