'One of the finest comedians' - Indian fans lash out at Abdul Razzaq for his comments on IPL

‘One of the finest comedians’ – Indian fans lash out at Abdul Razzaq for his comments on IPL

The veteran drew comparisons between the PSL and IPL.

Abdul Razzaq
Abdul Razzaq. (Photo by LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI/AFP/GettyImages)

Abdul Razzaq, the former Pakistan all-rounder, has been hogging the limelight in recent times. Back in December 2019, he called Jasprit Bumrah a ‘baby bowler’ and said that he would have attacked and dominated the speedster. Razzaq stated that after facing world class bowlers during his time, he wouldn’t have had much trouble while facing the young Indian pace bowler.

The comments drew a lot of criticism from the netizens as well as a number of the pundits and experts. Irfan Pathan, the retired Indian pacer, urged people to not play heed to such comments. Razzaq has again managed to come into the limelight. This time around, the veteran drew comparisons between the Indian Premier League (IPL) and Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Abdul Razzaq pulls off another controversial statement

Razzaq stated that if the best teams are former from both the popular T20 leagues, the PSL is likely to come out trumps. “If a team of the best players from the Indian Premier League faced a team made-up of the best players from the Pakistan Super League, the PSL team would win,” Razzaq was quoted as saying to journalist Saj Sadiq.

After the completion of the 2019 edition of the PSL, the commentators got together and formed the best team. It included seven Pakistan cricketers and four overseas names. The Sarfaraz Ahmed-led Quetta Gladiators was the champions of the previous season.

PSL XI: Shane Watson, Kamran Akmal (WK), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers (C), Colin Ingram, Asif Ali, Kieron Pollard, Faheem Ashraf, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Umer Khan

Meanwhile, Anil Kumble, the former Indian leg-break bowler, also complied his best IPL XI, taking seven Indians and four overseas cricketers. Mumbai Indians (MI) became the champions of the previous season, beating the Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

IPL XI: David Warner, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk & c), Hardik Pandya, Andre Russell, Shreyas Gopal, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah.

Following Razzaq’s comments on the IPL, Twitterati wasn’t happy with him by any stretch of the imagination. The users on the social media severely lashed out at the all-rounder.

Here’s how Twitterati hit out at Razzaq: –