Advertisement

Oshane Thomas’ bat hit the stumps in Bangladesh game but umpires didn’t give him out

Thomas' bails were dislodged but he was given not out.

Oshane Thomas
Oshane Thomas. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Limited-overs cricket always creates an opportunity for bizarre occurrences and when it is in the World Cup, the degree is even higher. On Monday, one such moment was witnessed in an otherwise one-sided game between former champions West Indies and Bangladesh in Taunton involving pacer Oshane Thomas. Ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan scored a magnificent 124 not out off 99 balls and Liton Das made 94 not out off 69 balls to successfully chase down the West Indian total of 321 with 51 balls to spare.

However, besides the magnificent victory of the Bangladesh side, the match also witnessed a bizarre incident in the first half. It was in the 49th over of the Caribbean innings when tail-ender Oshane Thomas was facing pacer, Mustafizur Rahman. He looked to go down the wicket to hit the bowler and the fans were shocked to see that the bails at the striker’s end got dislodged though the ball hadn’t hit the stumps.

Advertisement

The fielding side went up in appeal for hit wicket but the on-field umpire gave a soft signal that it was not out before going upstairs for the TV umpire’s verdict. Replays showed Thomas had hit the stumps with the bat but the third umpire Paul Wilson decided against giving him out, saying he took the bails down with his willow only after completing the shot.

As per MCC’s Law 35: “The striker is out Hit wicket if, after the bowler has entered the delivery stride and while the ball is in play, his/her wicket is put down by either the striker’s bat or person”.

Additionally, MCC’s Rule 35.2, which is related to not out on hit wickets, says: “The striker is not out under this Law should his/her wicket be put down in any of the ways referred to in 35.1. If it occurs after the striker has completed any action in receiving the delivery”.

Thomas had finished playing his shot

Thomas had clearly finished playing his shot and the bat went on to dislodge the bails in the backflow after the batsman completed his attempt.

Also read- Reports: Afghanistan players were involved in an altercation at a Manchester restaurant ahead of England clash

Here is the video:

View this post on Instagram

Dear Oshane Thomas, What have you done 😂

A post shared by Cricket Videos (@cricket_videos123) on

The West Indies lost a crucial game against the Bangladeshis and have three points from five games. They had won their first game against Pakistan on May 31 but have lost to Australia, England and now Bangladesh. Their game against South Africa was washed out.

Advertisement