Pakistan vs New Zealand: Sarfraz Ahmed takes eternity to take a DRS call and gets it wrong
Even though the ball was drifting towards the leg side, Ahmed decided to go ahead with the review.
Published - Dec 7, 2018 7:06 pm | Updated - Dec 7, 2018 7:06 pm
New Zealand created history by defeating Pakistan in a series away from home for the first time in 49 years. Although Pakistan were in the driver’s seat for a majority of the game, the Kiwis sneaked a victory from right under noses to make the scoreline 2-1. Pakistan’s problems with DRS calls has been amplifying day by day. Skipper Sarfraz Ahmed got yet another call wrong in this match.
The incident took place in the 43rd over of New Zealand’s second innings. Kane Williamson was batting out there in the middle and Hasan Ali was the bowler. A ball struck the Kiwi skipper on the pads in the over. The delivery was angling into the right-hander and struck Kane in a leg stump line. Hence, it would have clearly missed the leg stump.
Sarfraz Ahmed makes a serious error of judgement
Hasan Ali didn’t seem to be much interested in it. He indicated the same to the skipper who was standing behind the stumps. However, Sarfraz Ahmed had a long thought about it. With Williamson and Henry Nicholls going strong, it was as if he seemed to be pressurised to take this call to test his fortunes.
After a long thought, he finally decided to opt for the review. It went slightly above the stipulated time duration of 15 seconds as Ahmed signalled the ‘T’. But, the umpire was graceful enough to accept the challenge and took the call upstairs. The ball was pitching outside off, hit the opposition skipper in line but missed the stumps by a mile. Sarfraz Ahmed should have had good clarity about it being the wicket-keeper.
Yet, he took the review only to make another one of those poor decisions. Pakistan was left with no reviews after this one. New Zealand won the match by a massive 123 runs.
Here is the video of the DRS call: