PSL 2019: Multan Sultans terminated; PCB gives the team a new name

PSL 2019: Multan Sultans terminated; PCB gives the team a new name

"The Board shall take complete responsibility."

Multan Sultans
Multan Sultans. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Multan Sultans, captained by veteran Pakistan all-round cricketer Shoaib Malik, made their debut last season in the third edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). After making an impressive start, their campaign derailed and they finished fifth in the points table above cellar dwellers Lahore Qalandars. The franchise has recently been dealt with a body blow as it has been terminated.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) was compelled to take the decision for the reason that the franchise failed to meet its financial obligations in time. The team was owned by Schon Properties Broker LLC. Meanwhile, all the rights of the team would be with the PCB.

Moreover, the upcoming season of the T20 extravaganza would have six teams with an equal number of encounters. The draft for the next edition is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, November 20 and the event is most likely to start from the second week of February.

I want to reassure our partners

“The Board shall take complete responsibility of all player and coach contracts.” It also said that the team shall henceforth be referred to as the “sixth team”, and “The team selection for the sixth team at the player draft scheduled to be held on 20th November 2018 will be done by PCB itself,” a statement issued by the PCB and Schon Properties mentioned. “The rights holder would have the option of choosing the sixth franchise city and name,” a PCB official was quoted as saying in Geo News.

Following the developments, PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani said, “I want to reassure our partners – franchisees, sponsors, players, coaches and fans – that the Pakistan Super League will take place as planned. Our preparations are in full swing starting with the PSL Draft in Islamabad. The 2019 edition of the PSL will be a memorable one with as many as eight matches including the play-offs and the final scheduled to take place in Pakistan.”

The PSL has been a witness to three seasons. Islamabad United won the event last time around, beating Peshawar Zalmi in the final in Karachi. While a chunk of the event takes place in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), the tournament authorities are trying their hearts out to steadfastly bring the tournament back to Pakistan.

[interaction id=”5be792cf3cea78953b553057″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on