PSL 2022: Lahore Qalandars to get Rs 10 million on winning the championship

The Qalandars are yet to get their hands on the PSL trophy.

Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Hafeez
Mohammad Hafeez celebrates with teammate Fakhar Zaman. (Photo by Asif HASSAN / AFP) (Photo by ASIF HASSAN/AFP via Getty Images)

View : 2.9K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Lahore Qalandars are set to win prize money of Rs 10 million if they win the 2022 Pakistan Super League (PSL), Masud Zafar, the CEO of the Bank of Punjab, said. The BOP CEO and Atif Rana, the CEO of the Qalandars, signed an agreement during a ceremony ahead of the upcoming PSL edition.

Former cricketer Mohammad Hafeez, the Qalandars, and the management of the BOP attended the ceremony. After striking the deal with the PSL team, Masud lauded the tournament for motivating budding cricketers to take up the sport as a profession. He also had words of praise for the Qalandars.

Lahore Qalandars is a favourite for the majority of cricket fans, says BOP CEO

“The PSL promotes healthy activities among the youth as cricket holds special sentiments for the people. The core objective of this alliance is to encourage playing sports and especially cricket among the youth,” Masud was quoted as saying on

“Lahore Qalandars is not just my favourite team but also of the majority of the cricket fans. It’s not a sponsorship rather it’s a partnership between the two entities with common goals and objectives. To further infuse the interest in the league, new joint products will soon be launched that will be beneficial for both organizations,” he stated.

“Today is a big day of my life as I had started my professional career as a banker and today sitting with the topmost banker of Pakistan makes me really feel proud,” he added.

The Qalandars have been the perennial underachievers in the history of the PSL. Despite having players like Brendon McCullum, Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, and Shaheen Afridi in their ranks, they are yet to get their hands on the coveted trophy. In the first four seasons, they failed to qualify beyond the first round.

In 2020, they qualified for the final but lost to the Karachi Kings by five wickets at the National Stadium. In the previous edition, they promised a whole lot, but four losses on the trot showed them the door of elimination. It remains to be seen if they can turn their fortunes around in the upcoming season of the league.