Quinton de Kock was too smart in making bully of Fakhar Zaman: Danish Kaneria
Danish read out the rules by MCC to state that De Kock didn’t use any unfair means to get rid of Fakhar Zaman and was successful in bullying the batsman to gift his wicket to the opposition.
Updated - Apr 6, 2021 9:25 pm
The debate regarding the ‘fake fielding executed by the wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock during the second One Day International against Pakistan to bring an end to Fakhar Zaman’s remarkable knock of 193 runs continues on social media with the cricket fraternity divided into two-halves on whether the ploy was within the spirit of the game and the rules laid out by the International Cricket Council (ICC).
The latest to join the controversial subject is former Pakistan cricketer Danish Kaneria who opined that nothing was done against the rules laid out by the cricketing body. The veteran lavished praises on Quinton de Kock saying that the keeper played street-smart cricket and it was his presence of mind that helped South Africa in clinching the marquee game and saving the three-match ODI series.
Further, Danish read out the rules by MCC to state that De Kock didn’t use any unfair means to get rid of Fakhar Zaman and was successful in bullying the batsman to gift his wicket to the opposition.
Speaking on his YouTube channel, Kaneria said, “Quinton de Kock ran up to the stumps and gestured the bowler Lungi Ngidi, who was standing at the other end, to catch the ball. Zaman turned back to see whether Haris Rauf was going to make it safely. In the entire process, he got bullied and he got out, and also failed to make his 200.”
Danish Kaneria sides with Quinton de Kock
The former spinner further explained, “Basically, in this incident, no ICC rules were broken. I believe this what a street-smart cricketer does. We have seen it in the past when players have bullied the other players to get them out. I believe Quinton de Kock was too smart in making bully of Fakhar Zaman and enjoyed getting him run-out.”
The event that has stirred a controversy happened during the 50th over of Pakistan’s innings when the visitors needed 31 runs off the last six deliveries. The in-form batsman Fakhar was on the crease and attempted to take a double on the first ball. He could have easily completed the second run but got distracted after Quinton pretending as if the ball will hit on the non-striker’s end. As Zaman slowed, down the fielder Aiden quickly uprooted the stumps to send him back to the pavilion.