Rameez Raja picks all-time best India-Pakistan ODI XI

Rameez Raja picks all-time best India-Pakistan ODI XI

Rameez Raja has picked a unique Indo-Pak XI.

Rameez Raja
Rameez Raja. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

On Saturday, Rameez Raja revealed a unique all-time ODI XI which comprised of players from India and Pakistan only. The former opener announced his side during a Facebook live video chat on Sony Ten Pit Stop with former Indian batsman Sunil Gavaskar. The two legends discussed their line-ups as well.

Talking about his discussion, the cricketer turned commentator Gavaskar said that his son advised him to pick bowlers from Pakistan and batsmen from India. The former Pakistan skipper then revealed his combined XI of India and Pakistan.

“I briefly discussed this with my son. It’s a massive situation to be in, how to assemble a star cast of some giants of the game. But he said no it’s very simple, you have Pakistan bowlers and Indian batsmen in the line-up and you get a fantastic India-Pakistan XI, ” Rameez told Sunil Gavaskar during their live interaction.

Imran Khan to lead Rameez Raja’s all-time Ind-Pak ODI XI

Raza decided to opt for Virender Sehwag and Sunil Gavaskar as the two openers in his side. The two batsmen are undoubtedly the two best opening batsmen who have played for India in Tests. At no. 3, there was the current Indian captain Virat Kohli. At no.4, Raza went for Sachin Tendulkar. It was a surprising choice considering that Tendulkar had never consistently batted at that position in ODIs. Rahul Dravid was next in line at no.5.

MS Dhoni was chosen as the wicketkeeper-batsman in the side. It was surprising that Raza didn’t select a single batsman from Pakistan in his side. Imran Khan, the current Prime Minister of Pakistan and the world-winning captain was selected as the skipper of this side. Rameez had played a significant amount of his international career under Imran.

Raza also chose the bowling pair of Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis in his side. The pair was one of the most feared ones during their time and had the ability to run through opposition’s batting order. Anil Kumble, the former Indian spinner, was one of the two spin bowlers who was selected in the side. At last, there was Saqlain Mushtaq who was Raza’s second choice as the spinner.

Ramiz Raja’s combined India-Pakistan XI: Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar, Virat Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, MS Dhoni (WK), Imran Khan (C), Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Anil Kumble, Saqlain Mushtaq.