Ranji Trophy 2018-19, Round 5, Day 3 - Round up

Ranji Trophy 2018-19, Round 5, Day 3 – Round up

Gautam Gambhir and Jaydev Shah batted for one final time in their careers on Saturday and their respective sides ended Day 3 with positive results.

Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Probably the final innings of Gautam Gambhir‘s professional career ended with a blazing 112 in Delhi’s Group B Ranji Trophy game against Andhra. Banking on his century and Dhruv Shorey’s 98, Delhi managed to overhaul Andhra’s first innings total and have 19-run first innings lead going into the final day.

Saurashtra and Karnataka played off an absolute blinder in Rajkot. Despite falling behind by 99 runs in the first innings, Karnataka bounced back strongly and bowled Saurashtra out for just 79 runs. They set themselves a 179-run target and seemed like having an upper hand, but Kamlesh Makvana and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja’s spells bowled Karnataka out for just 91 runs. Saurashtra skipper Jaydev Shah ended his illustrious 16-year first-class career with this game.

Unlucky Baroda miss out on a bonus point

Yusuf Pathan‘s century and a brilliant effort from the bowlers set Baroda a 28-run target to seal a win. For them to win a bonus point, they had to register a 10-wicket win, but with just one run remaining, Aditya Waghmode was dismissed. Despite winning the game, Baroda will be slightly disappointed to have missed out on one valuable point.

Maharashtra took an important first innings lead in their Group A game against arch-rivals Mumbai. Mumbai bowlers fought back strongly in the third session as they took five wickets and restricted their opponent to 112 runs. Maharashtra have a 191-run lead and will have to bat out the final day cautiously.

Ajay Rohera’s historic 267-run knock on debut was one of the biggest talking points of the day as Madhya Pradesh battered Hyderabad by an innings and 253 runs. After declaring their innings at 562, Madhya Pradesh bowled Hyderabad out for 185 runs and completed a sensational bonus-point win.

Here are the scores from the other games happening across the country.

Brief Scores

Elite Group A

Baroda vs Chhattisgarh

Chhattisgarh first innings: 129 all out in 39.1 overs (Swapnil Singh 5/23)

Baroda first innings: 385 all out in 84.4 overs (Yusuf Pathan 129*, Bhargav Bhatt 67)

Chhattisgarh second innings: 283 all out in 81.3 overs (Avish Dhaliwal 79; Lukman Meriwala 3/18)

Baroda second innings: 31/1 in 3.3 overs

Baroda won by 9 wickets

Gujarat vs Railways

Gujarat first innings: 367 all out in 93.5 overs (Piyush Chawla 130, Priyank Panchal 69)

Railways first innings: 547/9 declared in 166 overs (Nitin Bhille 116, Arindam Ghosh 93, Mahes Rawat 119*)

Gujarat second innings: 4/0 in 4 overs

Gujarat trail by 176 runs

Maharashtra vs Mumbai

Maharashtra first innings: 352 all out in 109.4 overs (Swapnil Gugale 101, Chirag Khurana 71, Jay Pande 74)

Mumbai first innings: 273 all out in 80.5 overs (Siddesh Lad 93, Aditya Tare 63; Ashay Palkar 4/62)

Maharashtra second innings: 112/5 in 32 overs

Maharashtra lead by 191 runs

Saurashtra vs Karnataka

Saurashtra first innings: 316 all out in 97.1 overs (Jaydev Shah 97; Jagadeesha Suchith 6/111)

Karnataka first innings: 217 all out in 78.1 overs (Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 7/103)

Saurashtra second innings: 79 all out in 27.4 overs (Pavan Deshpande 3/5, Shreyas Gopal 3/10)

Karnataka second innings: 91 all out in 36.5 overs (Kamlesh Makvana 5/28, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 4/44)

Saurashtra won by 87 runs

Elite Group B

Delhi vs Andhra

Andhra first innings: 390 all out in 121 overs (Ricky Bhui 187; Suboth Bhati 5/48)

Delhi first innings: 409/7 in 144 overs (Gautam Gambhir 112, Dhruv Shorey 98)

Delhi lead by 19 runs

Madhya Pradesh vs Hyderabad

Hyderabad first innings: 124 all out in 35.3 overs (Avesh Khan 7/24)

Madhya Pradesh first innings: 562/4 declared in 140.4 overs (Ajay Rohera 267*, Yash Dubey 139*)

Hyderabad second innings: 185 all out in 65.5 overs (Rohit Rayudu 72; Avesh Khan 5/30)

Madhya Pradesh won by an innings and 253 runs

Punjab vs Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh first innings: 390 all out in 145.1 overs (Nikit Gangta 58, Ankit Kalsi 82, Mayank Dagar 71)

Punjab first innings: 84 all out in 35.1 overs (Mayank Dagar 4/22)

Punjab second innings: 195/8 in 78 overs (Gurvinder Singh 4/43)

Himachal Pradesh need 2 wickets to win

Tamil Nadu vs Kerala

Tamil Nadu first innings: 268 all out in 98 overs (Baba Indrajith 87, Shahrukh Khan 92*; Sandeep Warrier 5/52)

Kerala first innings: 152 all out in 76.5 overs (Ponnam Rahul 59; Rahil Shah 4/32)

Tamil Nadu second innings: 252/7 declared in 70.5 overs (Baba Indrajith 92; Sijomon Joseph 4/51)

Kerala second innings: 27/1 in 11 overs

Kerala need 342 runs to win

Elite Group C

Services vs Goa

Services first innings: 184 all out in 71.3 overs (Ravi Chauhan 75; Vijesh Prabhudessai 5/52)

Goa first innings: 259 all out in 100.2 overs (Darshan Misal 101*; Diwesh Pathania 5/74)

Services second innings: 277/5 in 85 overs (Rajat Paliwal 94, Rahul Singh 81*)

Services lead by 202 runs

Jammu & Kashmir vs Uttar Pradesh

Jammu & Kashmir first innings: 290 all out in 71.4 overs (Irfan Pathan 91, Parvez Rasool 87; Saurabh Kumar 6/90)

Uttar Pradesh first innings: 188 all out in 57.2 overs (Rinku Singh 66; Parvez Rasool 4/47)

Jammu & Kashmir second innings: 111 all out in 48 overs (Saurabh Kumar 5/28, Yash Dayal 4/26)

Uttar Pradesh second innings: 218/4 in 59.2 overs (Suresh Raina 66*, Rinku Singh 42*)

Uttar Pradesh won by 6 wickets

Jharkhand vs Odisha 

Jharkhand first innings: 172 all out in 71.1 overs (Basant Mohanty 5/44)

Odisha first innings: 201 all out in 55.4 overs (Suryakant Pradhan 54)

Jharkhand second innings: 288 all out in 94 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 132; Rajesh Mohanty 4/87)

Odisha second innings: 81/3 in 26 overs

Odisha need 179 runs to win

Rajasthan vs Assam

Assam first innings: 108 all out in 28.1 overs (Aniket Choudhary 5/38)

Rajasthan first innings: 325 all out in 111.2 overs (Mahipal Lomror 133, Salman Khan 71)

Assam second innings: 174 all out in 59.4 overs (Gokul Sharma 77; Aniket Choudhary 5/40))

Rajasthan won by an innings and 43 runs

Haryana vs Tripura

Haryana first innings: 292 all out 100.4 overs (Chaitanya Bishnoi 82, Rahul Dagar 114)

Tripura first innings: 250 all out in 76.1 overs (Pratyush Singh 76; Harshal Patel 4/49)

Haryana second innings: 119 all out in 44.2 overs (Ajoy Sarkar 3/15, Harmeet Singh 3/45)

Tripura second innings: 104/7 in 31 overs (Amit Rana 4/37, Tinu Kundu 3/19)

Tripura need 58 runs to win


Nagaland vs Manipur

Nagaland first innings: 126 all out in 37.3 overs (Priyojith K Singh 3/20)

Manipur first innings: 336 all out in 91.4 overs (Mayank Raghav 228)

Nagaland second innings: 334 all out in 98.1 overs (KB Pawan 131, Abrar Kazi 90; Yashpal Singh 5/46)

Manipur second innings: 128/3 in 36.4 overs (Lakhan Rawat 55)

Manipur won by 7 wickets

Bihar vs Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh first innings: 84 all out in 39.5 overs (Ashutosh Aman 4/26)

Bihar first innings: 536/5 declared in 112 overs (Indrajith Kumar 222, Babul Kumar 98)

Arunachal Pradesh second innings: 135 all out in 47.4 overs (Samarth Seth 58; Ashutosh Aman 7/14)

Bihar won by an innings and 317 runs

Sikkim vs Puducherry

Puducherry first innings: 647/8 declared in 157 overs (Paras Dogra 253, Fabid Ahmed 99)

Sikkim first innings: 247 all out in 72.2 overs (Milind Kumar 96; Pankaj Singh 3/21)

Sikkim second innings (F/O): 105/3 in 37 overs (Ashish Thapa 52)

Sikkim trail by 295 runs

Uttarakhand vs Meghalaya

Meghalaya first innings: 311 all out in 95.5 overs (Puneet Bisht 154, Yogesh Nagar 91)

Uttarakhand first innings: 491/4 in 163 overs (Vineet Saxena 202*, Rajat Bhatia 212*)

Uttarakhand lead by 180 runs

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian domestic cricket, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.