Rarest Cricket dismissal - Daryl Cullinan OUT Handing the ball

Rarest Cricket dismissal – Daryl Cullinan OUT Handing the ball

Rarest Cricket dismissal – Daryl Cullinan OUT Handing the ball: South Africa faces the challenge of touring West Indies. They already lead the series 2-0 and are batting first in the 3rd ODI. Opener Daryll John Cullinan has built up a solid partnership with Lance Klusener for the 2nd wicket. He is facing the slow left-arm orthodox bowler Keith Arthurton in the 27th over. The 4th ball of this over was just like his rest of the deliveries but something unusual happened afterwards. Cullinan fended the ball off into the ground. It bounced high in the air, and Cullinan removed his right hand from his bat to catch it as it fell again and returned it back to the bowler. The West Indies captain Brian Lara appealed for a unusual way to get out in cricket and accused the batsman for handling the ball.  Despite the fact that it was unlikely that the ball would land near the stumps Cullinan was given out handling the ball by the on-field umpires.

MCC Book of Cricket Laws and Rules briefly explain this rare form of getting out in cricket under Law 33: Handled the Ball. The law states that:

  1. Out Handled the ball

The striker is out Handled the ball if, except in the circumstances of 2 below, in the act of playing a ball delivered by the bowler, he wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat.  This will apply whether No ball has been called or not and whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. 

The act of playing the ball shall also encompass both playing at the ball and striking the ball more than once in defence of his wicket.

  1. Not out Handled the ball

Not with standing 1 above,

(a) the striker will not be out Handled the ball if the strike with a hand not holding the bat is in order to avoid injury.

(b) the striker will not be out Handled the ball but will be liable to be out Obstructing the field if he makes a strike with a hand not holding the bat  

(i) unless trying to avoid injury, as a lawful second or subsequent strike which prevents a catch.  See Law 37.3 (Obstructing a ball from being caught).

(ii) unless trying to avoid injury, after he has completed the act of playing the ball, as defined in 1 above. 

(iii)  at any time while the ball is in play, to return the ball to any fielder, without the consent of a fielder.  See Law 37.4 (Returning the ball to a fielder).

  1. Bowler does not get credit

The bowler does not get credit for the wicket.

The dismissal of Daryll Cullinan in this match was the second instance in ODIs history and remains the latest in this form of the game.

Here is the Video: