RCB’s first-ever playing XI in IPL: Where are they now?

RCB’s first-ever playing XI in IPL: Where are they now?

The Challengers lost the match in 2008 by 140 runs at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Zaheer Khan
Zaheer Khan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The first-ever match in the history of IPL was played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders in which KKR thrashed RCB pretty dominantly. Brendon McCullum scored more runs than the whole of RCB in that game. His 158 in that game is still the second-highest individual score in the history of IPL.

KKR won the game with a margin of 140 runs bowling out RCB for 82 runs who were chasing 222. Since then KKR and RCB have taken part in every season of the IPL. KKR has managed to win two IPL titles while RCB’s trophy cabinet is still vacant. RCB have not been successful in being the champions but they have won many hearts and made many memories to cherish for the cricket fans.

The fanbase of RCB is very loyal. The franchise calls their fans the 12th man as they create an amazing atmosphere whenever RCB plays at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. Virat Kohli has been associated with the franchise from the first season to date. Many cricketing legends wore the RCB’s colors.

In the article, let’s talk about the first-ever playing 11 which took the field for RCB in the inaugural IPL match

1. Rahul Dravid (C)

Rahul Dravid
Rahul Dravid. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Indian legend opened the batting for RCB. His contribution has just been brilliant for Indian cricket over the years. He was the icon player of RCB in the first season. He even led the team and was the first-ever captain of RCB and was dismissed by Ishant Sharma for just two runs in the first game.

He is now the head coach of the Indian senior men’s cricket team. He took over the charge from Ravi Shastri after the conclusion of ICC T20 World Cup 2021. He even coached the Under-19 Indian cricket team and the India A side. He gave India many talents like Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, and Prithvi Shaw.