Records MS Dhoni created despite missing success in the chase by a run

Records MS Dhoni created despite missing success in the chase by a run

Here are the numbers and records that MS Dhoni created on Sunday in Bangalore.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni. (Photo: IANS)

MS Dhoni nearly pulled off one of the greatest chases in the IPL against the Royal Challengers Bangalore where he scored 24 runs in the final over when 26 were required. Dhoni walked to bat when Chennai Super Kings were reeling at 28/4 in 5.5 overs during a 162-run chase. He was calm to take the game as deep as possible and even denied Dwayne Bravo strike in the 19th over. MSD finished with an unbeaten 48-ball 84 with five fours and seven sixes.

Here are the numbers and records that MS Dhoni created on Sunday in Bangalore:

4 – Number of times MS Dhoni scored 20+ runs in the 20th over in the IPL; the most by any player surpassing Rohit Sharma who had done that thrice. Dhoni scored 24 runs against Dale Steyn of SRH in the 2014 season for the Chennai Super Kings while batting first.

He recorded two such instances in RPS colours in 2016 – 20 runs against Dwayne Bravo of Gujarat Lions while batting first and 22 runs in the final over of a successful chase against Kings XI Punjab’s Axar Patel.

24 – Dhoni scored 24 runs in the final over of the chase against RCB; the most in the 20th over of an IPL chase. Previous highest was 22 runs by three different players including Dhoni himself. He scored 22 runs for the RPS in the 2016 season against KXIP’s Axar Patel. Pune scored the 23 runs they needed in the final over with one run coming in as wide.

As many as 26 runs were scored by Deccan Chargers against KKR’s Mashrafe Mortaza in 2009 when they needed 21 runs in the final over with Rohit Sharma alone scoring 22 runs. In the 2015 season, David Miller scored 22 runs in the final over for KXIP against SRH’s Ishant Sharma when they needed 28 to win in the final over.

84* – The unbeaten 84-run knock by Dhoni is his highest individual innings in Twenty20 cricket. Dhoni’s previous highest individual T20 score was 79* against the Kings XI Punjab in the previous edition which was also in an unsuccessful chase.

203 – The six Dhoni hit in the 19th over off Navdeep Saini was his 200th six in the IPL. He became the first Indian and overall the 3rd player to hit 200 sixes in the IPL. Chris Gayle (323) and AB de Villiers (204) are the two players to hit 200+ sixes in the IPL before Dhoni.

412 – MSD has aggregated 412 runs in the IPL against RCB at the Chinnaswamy Stadium. These are the 2nd most runs scored by any player in the IPL at the opposition’s backyard. Chris Gayle has scored 428 IPL runs against the Kolkata Knight Riders at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

4044 – He completed 4000 runs as captain in the IPL when on 44 against RCB. Thus, Dhoni became the first player to score 4000 IPL runs as captain.

[interaction id=”5caf3fec2da872fe459495fc”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on