Reports: IPL 2022 playoff matches likely to be played in Lucknow and Ahmedabad

The league stage of IPL is set to end on May 22.

IPL Trophy
IPL Trophy. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

View : 3.8K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The IPL 2022 is in full swing with all the teams looking to make a mark as the tournament progresses. While some of them look to continue the splendid run that they have been enjoying so far, others who are struggling as of now are looking to make amends in the coming matches as the competition heats up.

Meanwhile, it has been reported that two new venues will be handed over the responsibility of holding the playoff matches in May. Earlier, it was understood that Ahmedabad would be hosting the playoffs but, as per the latest reports, Lucknow has been added to the list. As of now, final confirmation on the same is awaited.

BCCI to have meeting soon to finalise the venues

Sources close to the developments stated that Lucknow and Ahmedabad might get hosting rights in the playoffs as the two new teams from those cities have been added this season. If everything goes according to the plan, Lucknow might host the first qualifier and the eliminator while Ahmedabad will get hosting rights of the second qualifier and the final.

“Since Lucknow and Ahmedabad have joined this year it would be great if playoff matches can be held in Lucknow and Ahmedabad respectively. This is what we have discussed few days back. Some of the officials are on the same page of thought and soon we will have our meeting and if everything goes as discussed then you might see Lucknow and Ahmedabad host the playoff matches,” a source said while speaking to Sports Tak.

Currently, Maharashtra is hosting all the league matches. All the 10 participating teams have been divided into two groups. The league phase is taking place in four venues across two cities- Mumbai and Pune. Wankhede, CCI-Brabourne, and DY Patil Stadium are the three venues for the Mumbai leg whereas, the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium is hosting all the games in Pune.

With the addition of two new franchises- Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants, the number of teams has increased from eight to 10 thereby, increasing the number of total matches to 74 i.e. 70 league matches and four knockout games including the final.