S Badrinath named Hyderabad captain for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Indian cricketer S. Badrinath gestures as he attends a camp at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bangalore on July 14, 2009. The NCA organised a five-day preparatory camp organised for emerging players ahead of their tour of Australia
Indian cricketer S. Badrinath. (Photo credit DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP/Getty Images)
Sampath Bandarupalli
Sampath Bandarupalli

Sr. Statistician

View : 700

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Subramaniam Badrinath will be leading the Hyderabad team in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 tournament as the Tamil Nadu batsman will be back home with Chennai hosting South Zone games of the tournament between 29th January and 3rd February.

The Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA) announced the squad for the T20 tournament on Monday as the senior limited-overs duo of Tirumalasetti Suman and Ashish Reddy failed to make a cut into the squad. Suman wasn’t even included in the probable squad while Ashish found no place in the 16-man squad. Both the players were a part of IPL winning Sunrisers Hyderabad team in 2016 but both were released from the squad ahead of 2017 edition.

Badrinath, who led Hyderabad in Ranji Trophy as well and helped the side to make it to the quarter-finals for the first time in five seasons will be playing an important role in the young Hyderabad line-up in this tournament as well. The 36-year-old, who shifted from Vidarbha to Hyderabad for 2016-17 season, didn’t feature in the previous edition of Syed Mushtaq Ali T20.

HCA has shown faith in the unit that played the Ranji Trophy quarter-finals before losing to Mumbai by a narrow margin. All the players from the Hyderabad’s XI in Ranji QFs have been picked in the T20 squad along with the new faces T Ravi Teja, P Saketh Sai Ram, and Sharadh Mudiraj.

Also read- Harbhajan Singh to lead Punjab in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Hyderabad will play against Goa, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, and Andhra on 29th, 30th, 31th January, 2nd and 3rd of February respectively.

Hyderabad Squad:

S Badrinath (Captain), P Akshath Reddy, Tanmay Agarwal, B Anirudh, B Sandeep, K Sumanth (Wicket-keeper), Mehdi Hasan, M Ravi Kiran, C V Milind, Mohd Siraj, Akash Bhandari, T Ravi Teja, P Saketh Sai Ram, A Akash, Himalay Agarwal, Sharadh Mudiraj (Wicket-keeper)

Stand Byes: Mudassar Hussain, B Yathin Reddy, Tanay Thyagarajan, Rohit Rayudu, A Lalith Mohan.

Coach: Bharat Arun

Asst Coach: Zakir Hussain

Fielding Coach: C Dayanand