Sachin Tendulkar comes up with witty reply when ICC tried to pull his leg
The 46-year-old also shared a trivia in his post saying that never in their career had he and Kambli played in opponent teams.
Updated - May 15, 2019 7:19 pm
Former India captain Sachin Tendulkar is also known to be as free-flowing in the art of tweeting as he was with cricket. The maestro gave a glimpse of his sense of humour in a tweet recently after posting pictures of him bowling to his childhood friend Vinod Kambli at the nets at an event of the Tendulkar Middlesex Global Academy in Mumbai.
The former cricketer, who has a record of 100 international hundreds and over 34,000 runs, was seen bowling his slow ones to Kambli and both individuals, now in the mid-40s, were seen in decent shape. However, as Tendulkar’s front foot overstepped the line by far, the International Cricket Council (ICC) chipped in to post a picture of former international umpire Steve Bucknor signalling a no-ball.
Steve Bucknor was ill-famous for giving Tendulkar out
The choice of picking a picture of Bucknor was deliberate since he was notorious for giving Tendulkar unjust dismissals during his playing days — be it in terms of the leg before or caught behind.
Tendulkar was also clever enough to catch and in a witty reply, he said he was relieved that he was bowling this time and not batting. He said the umpire’s decision is always the final decision. The indirect but sharp retaliation was picked easily by Tendulkar’s fans.
— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) May 11, 2019
The 46-year-old also shared a trivia in his post saying that never in their career had he and Kambli played in opponent teams. The duo had once put up a partnership of 664 runs in school cricket in which both had hit triple hundreds. That partnership had backed them a long way in making it big in the future. Tendulkar and Kambli had also featured in the Indian team in the early 1990s and though Kambli had brief stints of success, it was Tendulkar who eventually lasted the distance.
The Master Blaster had even taken 200 international wickets during his long career that spanned almost 25 years. Tendulkar also batted later at the nets and some of his shots brought alive the memories of his playing times.