Shadab Khan to donate match fees from Sri Lanka series for earthquake victims

Shadab Khan to donate match fees from Sri Lanka series for earthquake victims

Shadab Khan will feature in the home series against Sri Lanka starting on September 27.

Shadab Khan
(Photo by Getty Images)

A big earthquake recently hit Pakistan-occupied Kashmir on Tuesday leaving at least 22 people dead and injuring over 200. Photos became viral showing car-sized cracks into the roads and fallen buildings and trees in the city of Mirpur in the region. Seeing the situation, Pakistan cricketer Shadab Khan came forward with a pledge to donate match fees he will get from the upcoming series against Sri Lanka for the quake-affected people.

The Men in Green are set to play the islanders in a three-match ODI and T20I series at home starting September 27 in Karachi. The tour came under a considerable cloud over security concerns and also after as many as 10 Sri Lankan cricketers pulled out of it.

The Sri Lankan government had also warned of possible terror attacks during the series, leaving the country’s cricket board in a spot but it still decided to send the team after the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) gave the necessary assurances. The team from the island nation also arrived in Pakistan on Tuesday.

Shadab Khan, the all-rounder, said in a tweet that he will donate all his match fees received from the series for the people affected by the earthquake. The 20-year-old cricketer, who took four wickets for Northern against Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in a Quaid-e-Azam Trophy in Abbottabad on September 14, last played for his country at the World Cup in England in July. Overall, he has played in five Tests, 41 ODIs and 32 T20Is scoring over 600 runs and taking over 100 wickets.

Players like Malinga, Mathews and others have pulled out

Coming back to the series, the Sri Lankan players who opted out of the tour include experienced ones like Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Dimuth Karunaratne and others. Ten years ago, it was the national team of Sri Lanka which had come under a terror attack in Lahore and had to be airlifted out of the stadium to safety. Pakistan remained sidelined as an international host during this time as no major team agreed to travel there to play cricket.

Lahiru Thirimanne will be leading Sri Lanka’s ODI squad while Dasun Shanaka will be their captain in the T20Is. Pakistan will be led by Sarfaraz Ahmed.

Watch – 5 Indian cricketers who earn more from brands than from their board