Shahid Afridi congratulates Chris Gayle on 10,000 T20 runs on Twitter

Chris Gayle became the first man to get to 10,000 runs in T20 cricket

Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi. (Photo by ASIF HASSAN/AFP/Getty Images)

Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi took to Twitter to congratulate Chris Gayle on scoring a record 10,000 T20 runs on Wednesday. Gayle got to the incredible milestone on Tuesday while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the ongoing Indian Premier League.

Chris Gayle was back into the playing XI for RCB following a slump in form. The big West Indian was 3 runs short of the landmark figure before the start of the match between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Gujarat Lions.


Gayle got a thick edge off a Basil Thampi delivery which ran down to the third man. He cantered for a single, which brought up an unprecedented 10,000 runs in T20 cricket.

As Chris Gayle became the first man to score 10,000 runs in T20 cricket, Twitter erupted following the flamboyant all-rounder’s achievement. In particular, another all-rounder known for his big-hitting Shahid Afridi took the opportunity to congratulate the ‘Universal Boss’ for his accomplishment.

Afridi tweeted, “Fantastic achievement @henrygayle. Hope you continue to make big runs around the world! 10,000 and counting!”

Chris Gayle replied to the Pakistan all-rounder in like fashion. “Thank you Boom-Boom! You’re one of the greatest entertainer as well! Legend!” Gayle tweeted.

The RCB opener went on to score a brilliant 77 in the game against the Lions. His innings included 5 fours and 7 massive sixes. Gayle started off quietly but ended with a strike rate in excess of 200.

The West Indian has played in T20 leagues all across the globe, including Australia, West Indies, Bangladesh, England and Pakistan. Chris Gayle was also the first man to score a hundred in T20 internationals. He had kicked off the inaugural World T20 in grand fashion against hosts South Africa in 2007 with a fantastic century.

Reputed for his monstrous sixes, Chris Gayle had a fantastic couple of seasons in the IPL back in 2012 and 2013. He won the Orange Cap in 2012 and replicated his fantastic performance by finishing second in 2013 in the list of highest run-getters in the IPL.