'Shameful, absolutely pathetic' - Gautam Gambhir slams David Warner for hitting Hafeez's bizarre delivery for a six

‘Shameful, absolutely pathetic’ – Gautam Gambhir slams David Warner for hitting Hafeez’s bizarre delivery for a six

Gambhir also asked Ravi Ashwin if it is in the spirit of the game.

Gautam Gambhir and David Warner
Gautam Gambhir and David Warner. (Photo Source: Getty Images and Disney + Hotstar)

Australia defeated Pakistan in a thrilling semi-final of the T20 World Cup in Dubai on Thursday (November 11). Matthew Wade and Marcus Stoinis were the heroes for the Aussies who forged a match-winning partnership to take the team home. Apart from their excellent batting, another incident happened during the match which caught the attention of everyone.

In the 8th over of Australia’s innings, Mohammad Hafeez came into the attack and strangely lost the control of the ball. The ball bounced twice on the pitch and hilariously, David Warner, the batter facing the delivery, charged towards the ball and got underneath to smack it out of the ground. It was terrific hit and was adjudged six by the umpire and also deemed it a no-ball.

However, former India cricketer Gautam Gambhir is not at all happy with Warner. He felt that the southpaw hitting that particular ball was against the spirit of the game and also asked Ravi Ashwin his views about the same who is always open to have a debate around the ‘spirit’ of the game.

“What an absolutely pathetic display of spirit of the game by Warner! #Shameful What say @ashwinravi99?” Gambhir’s tweet read. With the umpire deeming it to be a six and calling a no-ball, going by the laws of the game, it was perfectly fine. But it seems Gambhir’s tweet might just spark the debate around spirit of the game yet again.

Warner’s weird dismissal

David Warner played a brilliant knock of 49 runs in the chase. But unfortunately, his dismissal was discussed more on the day. He was adjudged caught behind off Shadab Khan in the 11th over of the innings and Warner walked off without challenging the on-field call. However, the ultra-edge didn’t show any spike which left many baffled. There was a review available for Warner but he didn’t take it and was seen regretting it as the game went down the wire.

However, with Gambhir sparking a debate around his six off the double bounced delivery with his tweet, we might be in store for more on that front in the lead up to the final of the T20 World Cup.