Watch: SHOCKING Leave by Glenn Maxwell in BBL 4
Updated - Dec 28, 2014 5:06 pm
Watch: SHOCKING Leave by Glenn Maxwell in BBL 4: It’s the last Sunday of the year and Australians fans who weren’t much amused with their national team earlier in the day, wanted some more entertainment. Big Bash League Season 4 had made all the arrangements for them. The Brisbane Heat was playing with Melbourne Stars. The match had many big names like Daniel Vettori, Andrew Flintoff, Daniel Christian, Glenn Maxwell, James Hopes, Cameron White, Luke Wright, David Hussey and many others.
Heat batted first and posted a challenging total of 164/8. Melbourne Stars needed to chase 165 inside 20 overs to confirm two points in the league. Ryan M Duffield playing just his professional career’s 3rd T20I was to ball the first over. This young boy from Western Australia had pace and with a grass on the pitch, he tended the ball to move into the right-handers. 5th delivery of his first over to Cameron White improved everything about him. The ball pitched in middle and came back in sharply; White cannot do anything but to edge it to the keeper. Australia’s T20 heartbeat Glenn Maxwell was the next man in.
Duffield started his run-up; the ball pitched on off-stump and swung back in to shatter the stumps. What has happened here? Has Maxwell chopped on to this delivery? Replays show that Maxwell played this ball as an out-swinger and moved away from the stumps. But it was an in-swinger. What the heck on earth was Maxwell thinking?
“Goodness Gracious Me! What has happened here? I really don’t know what to say about this bizarre dismissal?” says Damien Fleming and Adam Gilchrist on commentary.
— cricket.com.au (@CricketAus) December 28, 2014
The reaction from the commentators sums up it all. No one knows what Maxwell was doing there! Did he miss-judged that in-swinger to be an out-swinger? The crowd erupts to next heaven. No one knows what had really happened there. May be Maxwell wanted to check if the stumps lights are working or not? May be he wasn’t ready? But the bowler is in no mood to know any reasons. Maxwell has been cleaned up by him and he has every reason to celebrate.
No matter what had happened to Maxwell there but surely this is the Most Bizarre Dismissal Ever in the History of Cricket!
Here is the Video: