SLC mull postponing Lanka Premier League due to sudden scheduling of Kashmir Premier League

Several Pakistan players to participate in KPL 2021.

Lanka Premier League
Lanka Premier League. (Photo Source: LPL/Twitter)

View : 4.5K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The second edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) was scheduled to get underway later this month. However, dark clouds are looming over the T20 competition as Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) is planning to postpone the tournament due to unavailability of foreign players as the cricket calendar is jam-packed in the coming months with many important series and tournaments being in the pipeline.

LPL 2021 is majorly affected by the sudden scheduling of the Kashmir Premier League (KPL) 2021. With the T20 league being a Pakistan-based competition, players from Pakistan would prioritize KPL ahead of the Sri Lankan competition. Speaking of the same, SLC Vice President Ravin Wickramaratne, said the sudden decision to host the KPL has now forced the Lankan board to meet and contemplate the decision of conducting LPL as per schedule.

We are discussing whether to go ahead or postponed the LPL: SLC Vice President

“We haven’t decided anything as of yet, we will be deciding today. You will have to wait patiently. It is not PCB I think, it is the Pakistan government (who have decided on hosting the KPL). The SLC CEO is in talks, but you will have to be patient. We are discussing whether to go ahead or postponed the LPL, that decision the management will take. The KPL was not in the schedule,” Wickramaratne was quoted as per saying by Devdiscourse.

As per the KPL’s official website, it is a T20 competition having credentials from the Pakistan Cricket Board among others. The tournament will feature six teams namely Rawalakot Hawks, Kotli Lions, Mirpur Royals, Muzaffarabad Tigers, Overseas Warriors, and Bagh Stallions. These sides will battle it out for the elusive title from August 6 to 17 in Muzaffarabad.

Speaking of the Lanka Premier League, SLC had announced that the second edition of the nation’s primary T20 competition will be played from July 22 to August 20. The inaugural edition of LPL took place last year with many foreign stars also plying their trade in the competition. As many as five teams participated last year with Jaffna Stallions emerging champions. However, it would be interesting to see how the second season unfolds.