IND vs AUS: Rohit Sharma laughs at Steve Smith for not walking off after edging the ball to the wicketkeeper

India managed to dismiss Smith in the 12th over via DRS.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Photo Source: Twitter)
Karthik Nair

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 2.5K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Australia have drawn first blood with an impressive four wicket victory over India at the PCA Stadium in Mohali on Tuesday, September 20. Steve Smith was also one of the contributors of this win scoring 35 runs off 24 deliveries and was involved in a 70-run second wicket stand with Cameron Green (61). 

Nonetheless, one of his actions left Indian skipper Rohit Sharma surprised and he did not shy away from expressing his disappointment. Instead of confronting the batter directly, Rohit expressed his disappointment with a way of laughter and a gesture that signalled him to keep walking back to the pavilion.

Here's how Steve Smith's action made Rohit Sharma react

On the third delivery of the 12th over, senior pacer Umesh Yadav bowled a full delivery which was a bit widish length as Smith shuffled across to attempt a paddle scoop. However, he was completely undone by the line and length and in the end attempted to play it to the third man.

There was no proper connection whatsoever as the ball took an edge and was eventually caught by Dinesh Karthik. Rohit appealed aggressively which was turned down by the on-field umpire. An angry Indian skipper then escalated the matter to the third umpire who overturned the decision to out.

Thus, Smith's stay at the crease came to an end and while he walked back to the dugout, Rohit Sharma pointed and lauged at the batter.

Unfortunately for the hosts, they did not have much to rejoice even after accounting for the likes of Cameron Green and power-hitter Glenn Maxwell as Matthew Wade tormented the bowlers to take the match away from them. 

Wade single-handedly handled the Indian bowlers in the death overs as he played the finisher's role to perfection scoring an unbeaten 21-ball 45. He clobbered Harshal Patel for three sixes in the 18th and Bhuvneshwar Kumar for three fours in the 19th over to take his team over the line.