IPL 2024: Captain Shreyas Iyer joins Kolkata Knight Riders squad

Iyer is all set to make his comeback as captain in the forthcoming edition of the cash-rich league.

View : 413

2 Min Read

Shreyas Iyer in KKR.
Shreyas Iyer in KKR. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Ace India batter Shreyas Iyer joined the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) pre-season camp ahead of the 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL). He returned to the team for the first time in two years after being sidelined from the 2023 IPL owing to a back injury. Iyer is all set to make his comeback as captain in the forthcoming edition of the cash-rich league. Nitish Rana, who led the two-time IPL champions in the previous edition, will now serve as his deputy.

Iyer returned to action in September 2023 but required reassessment in February. Following the second Test against England in Vizag, he complained of discomfort when playing long innings. The 29-year-old cleared to play, but India ruled him out from the squad for the final three Tests. Subsequently, he missed a Ranji Trophy league game for Mumbai, but made himself available for the semi-final and final encounters. Unfortunately, he did not take the field on the last two days of the final showdown against Vidarbha due to back pain.

Also Read: Shreyas Iyer dances in jubilation to celebrate Mumbai's 42nd Ranji Trophy triumph

The Kolkata-based franchise took to X, formerly Twitter, and shared a couple of images of Iyer with the caption, "Kolkata, it’s time 💜."

See KKR's X Post:

KKR name Phil Salt as Jason Roy's replacement

Kolkata Knight Riders has named Phil Salt as Jason Roy's replacement earlier this month. Salt, who went unsold in the 2024 IPL mini-auction, was signed with KKR after playing for Delhi Capitals in the previous edition. Roy, on the other hand, withdrew from the T20 event, citing personal reasons.

Also Read: Thrilled to represent KKR, look forward to giving match-winning performances: Phil Salt

KKR enters IPL 2024 fortified with a formidable line-up, boasting overseas players like Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Phil Salt, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, and Mitchell Starc. Complemented by strong Indian players featuring Nitish Rana, Shreyas Iyer, Rinku Singh, Venkatesh Iyer, and Varun Chakravarthy, KKR sets its sights on clinching their third title. Following a disappointing seventh-place finish in the previous edition, KKR seeks redemption as they commence their IPL 2024 campaign against Sunrisers Hyderabad on March 23 at the historic Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

KKR IPL 2024 full squad: Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shreyas Iyer (C), Phil Salt, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Anukul Roy, Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, Harshit Rana, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakravarthy, KS Bharat (wk), Chetan Sakariya, Mitchell Starc, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Ramandeep Singh, Sherfane Rutherford, Manish Pandey, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Dushmantha Chameera, Sakib Hussain

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store