Sad that franchise cricket has surpassed Test cricket in priority: Venkatesh Prasad

"Sets a very bad precedent," Prasad tweeted.

View : 175

2 Min Read

Venkatesh Prasad
Venkatesh Prasad. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Over the past few years, franchise cricket leagues have been heavily preferred over international cricket. Many star players have given up on their central contracts and have gone on to solely focus on franchise leagues and putting in work in those tournaments. 

The same has been heavily criticized by pundits all over the world, as many former cricketers have opined that international cricket should be priority number one for every player who plays at the highest level.

The same was the case with former Indian cricketer Venkatesh Prasad. Answering a user’s question on X (formerly known as Twitter) about how South Africa named seven uncapped players in their Test squad for New Zealand due to the senior players competing in the SA20.

"What is your take on SA sending third-grade teams to NZ tests? Have tests become luxury?" asked the user.

Prasad was quick to reply that the same sets a very bad example and that players should prefer international cricket over franchise cricket, and he hoped that the case does not become the norm.

"Sets a very bad precedent. Sad that it has reached this state where Franchise cricket has surpassed Test cricket in priority . Hope this doesn't become the way forward," Prasad tweeted. 

South Africa take on New Zealand in two Tests

After their ongoing Test series against the Indian team, South Africa will travel to New Zealand and face the Black Caps in two Test matches. The first Test will be played at the Bay Oval from February 4 with the second Test being scheduled to begin from February 13. 

Having won the first Test against the Rohit Sharma-led India, South Africa will look to wrap up the series and shift their focus onto the upcoming games.

South African squad for New Zealand Tests: Neil Brand (captain), David Bedingham, Ruan de Swardt, Clyde Fortuin (wicketkeeper), Zubayr Hamza, Tshepo Moreki, Mihlali Mpongwana, Duanne Olivier, Dane Paterson, Keegan Petersen, Dane Piedt, Raynard van Tonder, Shaun von Berg, Khaya Zondo.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store