TNPL 2023: Ravichandran Ashwin set to join Dindigul Dragons

"Closure! TNPL calling @dindigul Dragons," Ravichandran Ashwin wrote on his Instagram story.

View : 41.5K

2 Min Read

Ravi Ashwin Story.
Ravi Ashwin Story. (Photo Source : Instagram )

With the seventh edition of the TNPL (Tamil Nadu Premier League) 2023 already underway, the fans seem thrilled to see their favourite players in action once again. The 2022 season of the TNPL ended in abrupt fashion after the summit clash of the tournament was abandoned and both Lyca Kovai Kings and Chepauk Super Gillies were declared joint champions of the season.

Furthermore, with the 2023 season still in its initial stages, veteran India all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin took to his Instagram story, where he shared a picture of the flight on his way to Tamil Nadu to compete in the ongoing TNPL season.

"Closure! TNPL calling @dindigul Dragons," Ashwin wrote in his Instagram story on his way to competing in the tournament. The first game of the ongoing season was played on Monday, June 12, with Lyca Kovai Kings taking on IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans in the season opener.

Dindigul Dragons to take on Ruby Trichy Warriors in season opener

With the TNPL 2023 season in full swing, Dindigul Dragons will be kicking off their campaign when they take on Ruby Trichy Warriors in the fourth game of the tournament on Wednesday, June 14.

Dragons had a season to forget in 2022, as they finished sixth on the points table with four points in seven matches. Winning two matches and losing five, the side would be keen on putting in an improved performance in 2023.

With Ashwin in their squad, the 36-year-old would undoubtedly bolster their squad further as they will look to qualify for the knockout stages of the tournament. 

As has been the case for several years now, the TNPL 2023 will follow a format quite similar to that of the Indian Premier League (IPL). A total of 32 matches will be played in the tournament, including the knockout games. Following a round-robin format, the top four teams in the league stages will make it to the playoffs.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store