Twitter in conflict after Sanju Samson's appointment as captain for India A side

There were rumours of a protest against the BCCI in the wake of Samson's omission from the T20 WC squad.

View : 1.6K

3 Min Read

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson. (Photo By Sam Barnes/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Rajasthan Royals skipper and Indian cricketer Sanju Samson has been named the captain of the 16-man India A side taking on New Zealand A in a three-match ODI series. Sanju Samson's appointment has evoked a mixed reaction from the fans following his omission from the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup in Australia.

Samson will lead a strong India A squad that features players with several international games under their belt at the senior level. The squad includes Kuldeep Yadav, Prithvi Shaw, Shardul Thakur, and Navdeep Saini, among others. But all the eyes will be on one of the upcoming stars Raj Bawa, who shone in India's Youth World Cup campaign earlier this year.

Samson, who led IPL side Rajasthan Royals to their second-ever final of the tournament earlier this year was in contention to make it to the squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia, commencing next month. But to the dismay of the batter and Indian fans, he was omitted from the squad and wasn't even named on the standby list.

He last featured for the national team during India's ODI series in Zimbabwe in late August. The fans were infuriated by his omission from not only the T20 WC squad but also from the white ball series against Australia and South Africa at home in the lead-up to the ICC event.

While his appointment as the captain of the India A side is a good sign for the future of Indian cricket, fans believe that it was about time the stylish batter got an opportunity to make a statement in a major ICC tournament with the Men in Blue. While some fans rejoiced on his appointment, many reckoned it was a cover-up by the BCCI after his omission from the senior team on social media.

India A one-day squad: Sanju Samson (capt, wk), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, KS Bharat (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Shabhaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Navdeep Saini, Raj Bawa

Schedule of matches

September 22 - 1st one-day match

September 25 - 2nd one-day match

September 27 - 3rd one-day match

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store