WATCH: Shan Masood gets hit wicket, run out on same ball, still declared not out

The Law 31.7 saved Shan Masood as he continued to bat despite the potential run out incident.

View : 540

2 Min Read

Shan Masood
info
Shan Masood (Source : Twitter )

The T20 Blast 2024 is proving to be a treasure trove of extraordinary moments. From breathtaking catches on the boundary line to exhilarating run-chases, the tournament has continually delivered excitement and thrills. In the North Group fixture between Yorkshire and Lancashire on Thursday, June 20, the home team skipper Shan Masood appeared well-set having completed his 26th half-century in the format.

For the uninitiated, a very uncanny incident happened during the 15th over of the first innings as Jack Blatherwick took the attack. Masood attempted a ramp shot to grab a cheeky boundary, but not only did he miscue the ball but the batter also lost his balance and crashed onto the stumps with his right foot, resulting in a hit wicket, but to no avail.

Incidentally, Blatherwick had overstepped, which helped Masood's cause, but the ball that went towards Matthew Hurst, the fielder at short third, threw it back at the non-striker's end, as the batter was well short of his crease, also resulting in a run out, which could be affected if the bowler oversteps. However, a rare cricket law saved the left-hand batter from making his way back to the dressing room.

Watch the video of the strange incident here:

Why was Shan Masood declared not out despite falling short of crease?

In this scenario, the application of rule 31.7 became pivotal, where despite Masood being involved in both a hit-wicket and run-out incident on the same delivery, he was adjudged not-out. The umpires deliberated extensively on the situation and ultimately invoked MCC's Law of Cricket 31.7, which addresses the batsman leaving the wicket under a misunderstanding. Due to the delivery being a no-ball, Masood couldn't be dismissed hit-wicket.

According to Law 31.7, “An umpire shall intervene if satisfied that a batter, not having been given out, has left the wicket under a misapprehension of being out. The umpire intervening shall call and signal dead ball to prevent any further action by the fielding side and shall recall the batter.”

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:

googletelegraminstagramwhatsappyoutubethreadstwitter

Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store