South Africa announce their squad for T20I series against Australia; AB de Villiers still absent

The first T20I of the series will be played at Wanderers Stadium on 21 February, followed by the second T20I at St.George's Oval.

Quinton de Kock
Quinton de Kock. (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

After suffering defeat by thin margins in the recently-concluded T20I series against England, South Africa are now set to lock horns with Australia in a three-match T20I series starting from February 21. The Quinton de Kock-led side, which exhibited a competitive performance against England in the wake of an overhaul, will be eager to deliver a similar kind of performance against the Aussies.

While Du Plessis has already stepped down from the captaincy duties, South Africa have announced their squad for three T20Is against Australia. Quinton de Kock, who delivered flying starts against England, will be leading the Proteas side against Australia. Along with De Kock, Temba Bavuma is also expected to bolster the South African top-order. However, his possibility of playing is subject to his fitness.


Three eminent players– Faf du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje have been included in the 16-man squad which will encounter Australia, Cricket South Africa announced on Twitter.

Along with ex-skipper Du Plessis, other notable names in the squad include the likes of Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller and JJ Smuts. One significant absence from the squad is of AB de Villiers, who was rumoured to return back to the Proteas side ahead of the T20 World Cup 2020. Head coach Mark Boucher had also stated recently that they can consider including AB de Villiers in their T20 World Cup squad by taking his form and availability into consideration.

Dale Steyn will be eager to perform ahead of T20 World Cup 2020

Meanwhile, South African bowling force will be steered by the lethal pace trio of Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn and Lungi Ngidi. It will undoubtedly be a mouth-watering contest as both South Africa as well as Australia are equipped with a robust pace-bowling force.

All eyes will be on Dale Steyn, who failed to leave his mark after scalping a solitary wicket in his previous two T20Is against England. Tabraiz Shamsi, who scalped three wickets at Cape Town in the first ODI against England, will be heading their spin-bowling department.

The first T20I of the series will be played at Wanderers Stadium on 21 February, followed by the second T20I at St.George’s Oval (23 February) and the third T20I at Newlands Cricket Ground (26 February).

South Africa squad for Australia T20Is: Q de Kock (C, Wk), T Bavuma (subject to fitness), F du Plessis, R van der Dussen, D Miller, P van Biljon, D Pretorius, A Phehlukwayo, JJ Smuts, K Rabada, T Shamsi, L Ngidi, B Fortuin, A Nortje, D Steyn, H Klaasen

Freehit: 20 Questions with Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza