South Africa vs Australia, 2020: 3-match T20I series – Statistical Preview

All the key stats and numbers ahead of the 3-match T20I series between South Africa and Australia.

Steve Smith
Steve Smith. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Australia will be part of a limited-overs tour against South Africa which will be starting on Friday with the first game of the 3-match T20I series. The two sides will face off in a 3-match ODI series after the T20Is in a 16-day tour. South Africa is coming into this series after losing T20I and Test series at home against England. They are boosted by the return of Faf du Plessis after resigning from captaincy role from all formats. Australia, on the other hand, didn’t lose a T20I in 2019 and were beaten by only India in any format since the Ashes.

All the key stats and numbers ahead of the 3-match T20I series between South Africa and Australia:

1 – The recent T20I series defeat against England was their first T20I series defeat since losing the one-off T20I in 2018 on Sri Lankan tour. Between these two series defeats, South Africa won four consecutive series and drew a series in the T20I format. It also included three successive T20I series wins at home. Both are the longest such streaks for South Africa in this format.


During the last T20I in Centurion, South Africa lost while defending 222. It is also their first T20I defeat at home while defending a target in nearly three years. The South Africans won 8 consecutive T20I matches while defending a target at home before this defeat.

3 – Australia has not lost any of the three T20I series they played on South Africa soil in the last 10 years. They drew the 2-match series in 2011, won the 3-match series in 2014 by 2-0 margin and also won the 3-match series in 2016 by 2-1 margin.

8 – Australia has not lost a T20I match since the start of 2019. Their last defeat in this format was during the 2018 home series against India. Since the start of 2019, Australia featured in 8 matches winning in 7 of them. Another match ended without a result which they would have won had the game lasted 11 more deliveries.

48 – Number of dismissals Quinton de Kock affected in his T20I career. De Kock needs two more dismissals to become the first South African and the 6th wicketkeeper with 50 dismissals in Men’s T20I cricket.

86.25 – Partnership average of Temba Bavuma and Quinton de Kock in the T20I format. They batted together in five T20Is with 345 partnership runs and have had a stand of at least 48 runs in all five games.

The duo involved in nine partnerships in limited-overs Internationals (ODI/T20I) where they aggregated 862 runs at an average of 107.75 with three 100-run stands and five fifty-plus partnerships. Bavuma, however, will miss the first match of this T20I series.

262 – Quinton de Kock aggregated 262 runs across five matches as captain in the T20I format. He scored those 262 runs at an average of 65.5 with help of three fifties and scored 30+ runs in another two games.

287 – David Warner’s batting average in the T20I cricket in the 2019-20 season reads 287. Across six T20Is in the ongoing season, Warner scored 287 runs and has been dismissed only once. He also scored his maiden T20I ton alongside two fifties.

Across all International formats, Warner scored 1219 runs in 17 innings at an impressive average of 135.44 across 14 matches. He scored five hundreds and two fifties in this season for Australia.

5983 – Glenn Maxwell needs 17 more runs to become the 7th player from Australia with 6000 runs in the Twenty20 format. Maxwell has a T20 batting strike rate of 154.4 which is the 2nd best behind Andre Russell’s 170.42 among the players with 5000+ runs.

6872 – David Miller has scored 6872 runs in his Twenty20 career thus far. He needs 128 runs more to become the 2nd South African with 7000 T20 runs after AB de Villiers.

11843 – Runs Steve Smith has scored 11843 runs in his International cricket; he needs 157 more runs to become the 11th player to score 12000 International runs for Australia. Smith is also 90 runs away from completing 4000 runs in the T20 format.