South Africa vs India: Proteas name 15-man squad for remaining ODI fixtures

Aiden Markram is set to lead the team in the remainder of the series as well.

Aiden Markram News
Aiden Markram. (Photo by Shaun Roy/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Team South Africa have been heavily dented in their own backyard this season. After a win in the Test series, they were expected to dictate terms in the limited overs fixtures as well. However, the story has not been very fruitful thus far. They arrived in to the series riding on a winning streak of 17 matches at home. Team India brought a screeching halt to their domination at home and are dictating terms in the 6-match ODI series.

With their most recent win in the Cape Town ODI, the visitors have taken an unassailable lead of 3-0 in the series. To add to the miseries of the hosts, they have been dented heavily by the injuries to Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock. Amidst this backdrop, the Cricket South Africa has announced the 15-member squad for the remaining three ODIs of the ongoing series.


Much to the delight of the fans and the team management, veteran cricketer AB de Villiers has been name in the team. De Villiers had missed out on playing the first three ODIs owing to an injury. His absence certainly hurt the hosts as they were very vulnerable in the middle-order.

Aiden Markram is set to lead the team in the remainder of the series as well. The other experienced campaigners in the team are Hashim Amla, David Miller, and JP Duminy. Morne Morkel is back in the scheme of things in the bowling department and is most likely to take the new ball with Kagiso Rabada in the next fixture.

Tabraiz Shamsi and Imran Tahir are the two specialist spinners in the side. Khaya Zondo and Farhaan Behardien will compete for a place in the middle-order. Heinrich Klaasen, who made his debut in the previous game, has been retained in the side. The next ODI will be played at the Wanderers, Johannesburg. It will be a pink game for team South Africa.

Here is the South Africa squad for the remaining ODIs:

Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Aiden Markram (c), David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Khaya Zondo, Kagido Rabada, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shami, Heinrich Klaasen, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Farhaan Behardien, AB de Villiers.

For the latest cricket news, follow CricTracker.