Sri Lanka announce squad for one-off T20I against South Africa

The one-off game will be played on August 14.

Sri Lankan players
Sri Lankan players. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced the 15-member squad for the one-off T20I match to be played against South Africa next week. The Proteas are in the island nation for a full tour at the moment. The visitors were humiliated in the Test series where they meekly surrendered. They bounced back in the ODI series by registering three clinical wins in the first three ODIs of the five-match series.

With the win in the third ODI, the fate of the series was decided as the visitors took an unassailable lead. The hosts saved some pride by registering a narrow win in the rain-affected fourth game. The last ODI will be played on Sunday (August 12, 2018) at the R Premadasa Stadium. The very same venue will then host the only T20I of the tour a day later. The T20I will be played on August 14, 2018.

The selectors of the Sri Lankan side recently announced their squad for the one-off game. The biggest headline from the squad announcement is about veteran pace bowler Lasith Malinga. Malinga has been ignored by the selectors yet again. It is worth noting that the senior cricketer has been out of action for quite some time now. He lost his place in the national side owing to a string of poor performances last season.

In the recent times, he fared decently in the Global T20 League in Canada and had finished the tournament as the third leading wicket taker. Hence, there were speculations that he could make a comeback to the squad for the one-off T20I against South Africa. Among the other big names, Angelo Mathews is set to return for the match. Young cricketer, Dhananjaya de Silva, who last played a T20I in January 2017, has also been recalled in the side.

Sri Lanka T20I squad for the one off game against Proteas:

Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Akila Dananjaya, Dhananjaya de Silva, Binura Fernando, Shehan Jayasuriya, Lahiru Kumara, Shehan Madushanka, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera (wicketkeeper), Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Dasun Shanaka, Upul Tharanga, Jeffrey Vandersay.

For all the latest cricket news and other updates follow CricTracker.