Sri Lanka to host India, Bangladesh in 2018 for Tri-Nation series

Sri Lanka v India v Bangladesh
Nidahas Trophy 2018. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Sri Lanka cricket, as a part of their 70th Independence day celebrations, is all set to play a Tri-Nation series in March 2018, Sri Lanka Cricket chief Thilanga Sumathipalas announced during a media talk P. Sara Oval in Colombo on Wednesday.

The T20 international series will be participated by India and Bangladesh apart from the hosts. The media briefing was also attended by BCCI CEO Rahul Johri and BCB President Nazmul Hassan. The series will be played from 15th March to 31st.


India and neighbour Sri Lanka have shared a historical bond in international cricket. It will be exciting for cricket fans to watch the two teams lock horns once again. Before that, they will also meet at the ICC Champions Trophy in June this year.

The first ever T20I between both the cricket crazy countries was a thrilling affair. That was back in 2009 in Colombo. After choosing to bat first, Jayasuriya and Dilshan provided a kickstart to the Sri Lankan innings by stitching together 53 runs in the first five overs. But, the Indian spinners pegged them into the game though Sri Lanka anyway went on to post 171/4.

India lost both of their openers quite early before both Yuvraj and Raina took to the crease. But as soon as these two batsmen were dismissed, a batting collapse was triggered as India fell apart from 81/2 to 115/7. With 57 runs required from 29 balls, it seemed unlikely for India to win. However, then came the Pathan brothers who batted beautifully and took India to a victory with 4 balls to spare. The man of the match was Yusuf Pathan for his effort of 33 (16) & 2/23 with the ball.

The fans will be looking forward to more of such exciting games in the March 2018 series. The schedule of the series is yet to be announced.