Sri Lanka squad for ODI series against India announced

Opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka makes a return to the side

Akila Dananjaya Sri Lankan players
Akila Dananjaya of Sri Lanka celebrates. (Photo Source: Francois Nel/Getty Images)

After the culmination of the 3-match Test series, India and Sri Lanka will face in a limited overs leg consisting of 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is. Sri Lanka has a poor record in limited overs format this year with a 4-21 win-loss record in ODIs. While most fans believe the contest will be one-sided, the Islanders aim to step up and take on the challenge. And in a bid to their conquest, the Sri Lanka board released their ODI squad for the upcoming leg.

Thisara Perera has been named the skipper to lead a strong 15-man squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against India which starts on 10th December in Dharmasala. The Islanders have been cursed with three whitewashes in 2017 against South Africa, India and Pakistan respectively earlier this year. However, all the losses were under Upul Tharanga’s captaincy and hence the selectors decided to try out a new limited-overs captain in Thisara Perera.


In-form Test captain Dinesh Chandimal who had a horrific ODI series against Pakistan, scoring only 41 runs in 5 innings has been dropped along with Chamara Kapugedara, Milinda Siriwardana and Seekkuge Prasanna who all failed to perform in the UAE.

Opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka who averages 42.41 in 12 ODIs this year makes a return to the side after being surprisingly omitted from the Pakistan ODIs. Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay and off-spinner Akila Dananjaya will be the two specialist spinners in the squad while left-arm spinning all-rounders, Chathuranga De Silva and Sachith Pathirana have also been added to the touring party. The 9 ODI specialists are due to leave the island tonight and will join the rest of the players who are currently in the Test squad.

Sri Lanka ODI squad:

Thisara Perera (Captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga De Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep.